28 Gauge Recommendations

MRBlack

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Hunted
South Africa
Good evening gentlemen,

I have recently become quite fond of double of all kinds. I am using a Merkel SxS 500 Nitro and enjoying it. Last fall, I became addicted to upland hunting, especially quail. I have purchased a young German Shorthair Pointer from a local hunter and plan to hunt with him this fall. I feel that a good SxS 28 gauge would make an excellent quail gun as well as a trainer for the 500. I have a Browning over under 12 that I like, but I think a side by side would make an excellent addition, as well as a trainer for the Merkel. For that reason I really would like double triggers, and if possible, extractors. I am a college student and have a somewhat limited budget. With these things in mind, what do you all think I should consider? Thanks, Matt.

A couple of years ago I wanted a 28ga SxS. As I don’t do much bird hunting anymore, I picked up a little CZ Bobwhite 28ga. Double triggers, extractors, five choke tubes, light weight and only about $650.

What @meigsbucks said.

The least expensive new gun that would be reasonably certain to perform as advertised would be the CZ in either the Sharptail or Bobwhite models. You can find those for under a thousand. Watch the triggers, they can be a crap shoot. But such a gun can get you rolling into the wonderful world of SxS shotguns. Though, it is possible you may regret the decision someday. ;)

my classic DB in a browning BSS sporter in 20 ga made in the mid 70,s. it has served for several generation of hunters with out any problems, firing untold amounts of shell over the years.

DSCN0050 (2).JPG
DSCN0051 (2).JPG
DSCN0052 (2).JPG

Last edited by a moderator: