270 winchester bullet performance question 150 partitions and A frames

The 150Gr Nosler Partition (in .270 Winchester) is a solid deer getter. Used it on more than a few whitetail and fallow deer in the US and Australia.

Rocco490.... I agree with bruce, but I've got 20+ years experience loading .270win with every bullet I can get my hands on.

For the 150gr bullets - Great penetration and terminal performance on the 3 bullets you mentioned on deer & hogs; with the deer being whitetail bucks in the 200lbs+ range.

However my own personal favorite for .270win is the 140gr Accubond loaded with Reloader22 powder(0.5gr under max); likewise I also load the 140gr Hornady BTSP with the same charge of RL22 and use it for practice, pigs & culling whitetail.

I mention the 140gr bullets because in my personal opinion they seem to have the best accuracy and on game performance for what I hunt and with the rifles I hunt/shoot with.
I have had real good success with the 140 accubonds with max loads of 760. Tried the 130 core locks performed poorly on 150 pound whitetails and hogs. Also have a 270 wsm which performs great with 150 partitions with reloader 19. The 150 long range accubonds worked well in 270 wsm. Black bears, hogs ,deer, and African plains game including eland fell to the 140 accubonds in my old browning 270.

I'm a big fan of Grand Slams at moderate velocities. I worked up some tack-driving loads for 180 gr for my sons' 308 Wins, MV is a little over 2500. They do very well in our deer woods where shooting distances are often no more than 50 yards.

That's the complicating bit for new hunters/shooters. A 180 gr GS is fine for that environment, but 150 gr GS at 2800-3000 wouldn't be the direction I'd want to go. It'll work, there are just better options.

The .270/150 gr. GS is fine for a woods round at 2800 fps at the muzzle, as well as out to ~ 300 yds on med/large N/A game. (1500 ft-lbs, 6" drop w/ (+/-) 3" MPBR zero)

Got a pile of'em for $0.22/pop.