South Africa VAT Question and Import Question

Divernhunter

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Member of
Life member NRA and NAHC Escalon Sportsmans club, Manteca sportsman club and Coalinga Rifle Club. Member of SCI
Hunted
USA, RSA
Headed to SA April 24th and have a couple of questions. Please bear with me as I am a newbie and never been to Africa before. These may be stupid questions but I do not know and need to know.

I was told to keep reciepts and there is a form to fill out to get back the VAT I spend in SA.
1) What about the VAT on the hunt itself? Can I get that back and how?
2) What about the dip and pack VAT? Is there VAT on the dip and pack?
3) I plan to have some flat skins tanned there. What about any VAT on them?
4) Shipping them to the USA. Is there a VAT on that and can I get it back?
5) We are sightseeing in Capetown before hunting out of PE. Is there a VAT on the hotel bill? Can I get that back?
I was told there is a counter at the airport to do this and would like to kind of know what I am doing before I get there.

Another question:
I would like to bring home an elephant hair bracelet or 2 but was told the USA customs would take it. Yet I have heard others who did bring them home and did not get them taken. What is the deal? How do I get it home safely, if possible?
I would also like to bring home a couple of carved or uncarved warthog tusk. Is there a way I can do this and not have them taken at customs?

Anything I should NOT buy to bring home? This way I will not waste my money on items that I cannot bring into the USA.

We are looking forward to this trip and I want things to go as smothly as possible.

Thank you in advance for any helpfull answers---Doug

Unless you are going to drop some serious cash on material goods (jewelry) its probably not worth spending your vacation waiting in a line-too much shopping to do JNB ha terrific shops!