Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
Private club on friend's land in Augusta County, Virginia
Hunted
USA (Colorado, Alabama, Virginia)
Hi all,

I'm new to AfricaHunting.com and am using the forum as part of my research into planning for a hunt in Africa. This would be my first outside the USA.

The outfit I'm inquiring about has a website at: African Sky Hunting Safaris

The website is very professional and has the most complete information on hunting in Africa I've seen of any outfitter. I also read nothing but praises for them, including hearing from the brother of an old girlfriend who went two years ago. He had a very successful hunt and it turns out his PH was the very guy I've been in correpondance with through email!

I have no question they're a top notch outfitter. It's just that as I've continued my research, I've found them to be considerably more expensive than any of the others thus far. The daily rate is at least $50 more per day and most of the trophy fees are more, most by hundreds of dollars.

For instance, here are a rew trophy fee comparisons between ASH and HVSafaris:

Gemsbok: ASH $1495 vs. HVS $1100
Eland: ASH $2480 vs. HVS $2000
Ostrich: ASH $990 vs. HVS $350
Springbok: ASH $495 vs. HVS $350
Blue Wildebeest: ASH $1070 vs. HVS $975

I've found the same kind of thing with other outfitters. By the time you add up four to six animals, we're talking a lot more money.

I'm wondering what accounts for this variance. Are the hunts really that much better through ASH than the other places or is it simply they have a good following and can afford to charge more without loosing business?

I'm not a cheapskate, but I'm not wealthy either. I really want to hunt Africa, but any such trip is going to take several years to save up for. I'm finding I could hunt six or seven animals in other outfitters for the price of four through this outfitter. So, I'm just curious.