Range time and a parenting lesson

brushmore

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
South Africa
I am heading out in just 3 weeks on my first safari and I am taking my teenaged daughter. I can tell you the most stressful part of the planning so far has been trying to get my daughter to take preparing for the trip seriously. Something that completely surprised me was that she wants to go hunting on this trip. (She has never expressed any interest in hunting whatsoever) The problem is that she has never shot anything bigger than a .22 and that was several years ago. I am an instructor at my club and I run a junior rifle program for kids and I had to practically force her to join our classes. I've been trying to get her to come with me to the range but the social schedule of a 16 year girl rarely has time for that kind of stuff.

To be honest I was more than a little concerned that she would be able to shoot accurately enough with the little amount of time we had and would be able to handle my Tikka T3 Lite .308. I wouldn't say the recoil is bad but it does get your attention and she's very petite. I told her that I don't think she could handle shooting the .308 and maybe she should give up on the idea of hunting on this trip. (This is were the parenting lesson came in) She had to prove me wrong! Today I finally got her to the range and the worrying was for nothing. I bought some Hornady Custom Lite ammo for her to start off which ended up being a waste since she didn't mind the recoil one bit! Then we stepped up to the real stuff, Norma 180 gr and she proceeded to create a single hole at 25 yards right off the bat! It was very windy and at 100 yards she managed up with 4 in groups off the sticks. Not too bad but she will have some more time to practice over spring break.

sarah_tikka.jpg

Oh, and one more thing. I've been nagging her to break in her brand new boots. She got a good start on that today too:

boot.jpg

That's just awesome Bill!!!