Prvi Partizan Ammunition and Gemsbok

Reaction score
Media
Member of
SA Hunters
Hunted
South Africa, Namibia
Hi all

I'm planning a hunt in August with a Gemsbok on the cards among others. My question is would the Prvi Partizan 170gr 11Grom for .308 be sufficient for this animal. I've shot a Blue Wildebees with these, but the question is if this round would be good enough especially if the distance could be a factor?

Thanks

.308, I have no experience with this round, but, I would assume that if it took a Wildebeest it would take a Gemsbok with proper shot placement.

Sorry about that .308, went and checked my surplus, I have shot this ammo "PPU ammo" in a long forgotten 338 Lapua (more bark, with just about as much bite as the regular 338 wm). From what I can remember the ammo shot pretty good, as for the effects on game, I have no answer for you. Good luck, if you don't find an answer on how it preforms then maybe find some ammo with a good reputation on game. Again, I am sure if you took a Wildebeest with it in the past, i am sure it would take a Gemsbok.

The Prvi Partizan PPU GROM ammo will work well on Gemsbok.

I would not use their SP ammo on a PG hunt.

I know very little about their ammunition - I have never seen it advertised in the States. After looking at their site, my only caution would be that they do not advertize their soft points, including the Grom, as a "bonded core" bullet. Most companies would make a big deal of that if they were. Looks like a fairly thick shanked, small core design. If they hold together plowing through a shoulder, then ok, but I would be a little hesitant of anything without a known track recort.

Hi there,