Ohio Deer Hunt

NickyMaz

AH senior member
Reaction score
Member of
NRA, SCI, RMEF, Wild Sheep Foundation
January 2-6 was muzzleloader season here in the great state of Ohio and went hunting with Brushy Forks Outfitters in Newark, OH (about 40 miles east of Columbus). Last season they reported very high success rates of 160% (many guys getting both a buck and doe) and everyone at least got a shot on a buck.

I will be the first to admit I am a novice hunter. I went when I was a teenager but never shot anything, the hunting pressure in upstate New York where I'm from was especially intense so that wasn't unusual. Then with college, career and whatnot I didn't hunt at all in my 20’s and am just not getting into it seriously in my early 30’s. I figured the best thing to do was book with an actual outfitter who could get me in the right place to shoot a deer.

This outfitter has leased hunting access to several farms in the area, they spend considerable time scouting and identifying areas where deer are active with trail cams, they also set out corn and plant food plots to keep the deer coming back.

Prior to arriving I told the owner, Bryan, I wasn’t a fan of heights and would prefer to hunt from the ground. On the first day he drives me to a precarious tree stand. I attempt to climb to the top but I climb right back down and tell him it’s not going to work out for me. I also didn’t have a safety harness which was another concern beyond my acrophobia. Bryan finished dropping off the others and took me to a ground blind looking out at a small plot of turnips. I got settled into the blind before dawn and waited for the sun. I figured this would be a prime deer spot, looking at those luscious greens I even got hungry! But as morning came and the day grew on I grew increasingly frustrated as I saw exactly zero deer. 11 hours of sitting on my but in the cold and seeing no animals was very frustrating.