Newcomer to hunting in Africa

Dan Petrescu

Reaction score
Hello everyone! My name is Dan Petrescu. I am Romanian but have lived in US, Asia and now in Yaounde, Cameroon for the last eight years. I am an independent consultant on development communication so I am fortunately flexible with my time. In my list of passions (other than my family and work) hunting comes first, followed by scuba diving, fishing and observing and nurturing nature. I was lucky to meet Loodt Büchner on Facebook who recommended I join this community.

As a hunter I tend to prefer small game, preferably in company of my pointer, that I raised and trained myself (NAVHDA - Utility Dog Prize). In Romania and US I loved to go for quail partridge, pheasant, hare, etc and also waterfowl. That being said, I will go out a few times a year to get a boar, stag or roe deer...

Although I have travelled extensively on business in Africa I have not hunted it...so from this point of view I am a newcomer and I would welcome advice on how I can pursue my hunting passion here in Cameroon. Thank you!

Welcome to the forum @Dan Petrescu

You have come to the right place to find out more about hunting Africa and especially Cameroon! Feel free to ask questions and participate in other threads as well.

Chime in and make lots of new friends.

Regards,

Loodt Buchner

Welcome to AH! Birdhunting over pointing dogs are one of the passions we share. I am sure you will obtain all the information you may need on AH!

Welcome to AH Dan, Loodt gave you great advice to join. Enjoy!

Welcome!

You'll love it here. Great place to both learn and meet new friends!!!

Welcome to AH.
Plenty of hunting in Cameroon.
I look forward to hearing about your new exploits.

Welcome to AH.jpg

Welcome!

Hi Dan,

Welcome to AH, looks like you have a good place to start hunting now.

With some flexibility you have the ability to discover a few additional countries.

Welcome from Alaska to the best forum.

Welcome to AH, Dan!