New bow hunter

Pardus

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am new to the bow hunting environment but love it so far.
I have the Bowtech Assassin.
I want to find out what broadheads is good quality and kill the animal in the least amount of time?
My field points are 100gr and want the broadheads to be 100 aswell.
Any guidance will be helpfull.:confused:

Hi and welcome :)
I highly recommend you to use either Slick Trick Standards or Slick Trick Magnums.

All good suggestions. I still love the muzzy three blade head. Sharp, fly well out of my bow, and leave a nice blood trail.

You will get as many opinions as there are BH's on the market, which are many. I personally shoot Smoke Ramcats in the 100 grain and I am going to try 2 new heads this year, the Quad Exodus in the non barbed version and a broadhead called the Gravedigger. The Gravedigger is a hybrid with a COC 1" main blade with 2 1 3/4" curved mechanical blades, sort of the best of both worlds. This head is 420 stainless steel blades with 7075 aluminum ferrule. A total of 4 1/4" of cutting surface. Some may say the 1" main blade cut is not large enough, but there are a ton of heads that only have 1 1/8" including the Slick Tricks.

As far as the Ramcats, the 2 heads I mentioned above are going to have an uphill climb to get me to switch from the Ramcats. they worked well for me on 5 plains game in Africa in 2010, several feral hogs and deer in TX and a huge 6x7 345" bull elk in CO last Sept. I got full pass thrus on the bell elk at 38 and 44 yards. The second shot was not needed, but since he stopped, I figured I may as well put another in him. He only went 50 yards and collapsed.

Find a BH that is of good quality, sharp and flies well out of your set up. Almost any head you choose will work if the shot is in the right place. There is not a head on the market that will make up for a bad shot unless it is a huge cutting mechanical and you get lucky and barely cut a major vein, artery or organ.

best broadhead