Namibia: First safari booked with Jan Oelofse Safaris!

Albertaguy

AH veteran
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
This journey all started last year at the African Hunting Show in Calgary Alberta when my BIL and I went to see what it was all about. We are both lifelong hunters here in Alberta, hunting everything from Antelope and Mule deer on the prairies to Elk, Moose and Sheep in the mountains. After that first contact with the outfitters at the show we realized that an African safari was within our budget. Then began the research , What country, What outfitter, What time of year, What animals ? That is what lead me to this fantastic site and after joining and reading and learning from all the experienced guys on here it gave me a bit more of an insight into what to look for in an outfitter. Now although I am still a rookie here is the reasoning behind our decisions.

Country - Namibia is a safe and easy place for a first timer to travel to and easy to take our own guns with us. It also is one of the best places for the trophies we are looking for; Kudu , Gemsbuck , and Black- faced Impala.

Outfitter- Jan Oelofse has everything we are looking for; lots of acres to hunt ( 300 000 ), well managed game herd, nice lodge, good equipment. They also run a school on their property that helps out the community ( Mount Etjo Private School ). Also on their property they have Rhino, Elephant , Lions and Hippos which will give us a small taste of what wild Africa is really like. The last thing that sold us was their game handling facilities and their own dip and pack which is certified to ship trophies to Canada. We also checked with lots of their Canadian references and they were all very pleased with their experience at Jan Oelofse Safaris.

Animals-The animals that I am interested in a this time are; Kudu, Gemsbuck, Black-Faced Impala, Red Hartebeest and Warthog.

Time of year- We have booked for May of 2017 to have nice weather and to coincide with the Kudu rut.