Merkel 141 Experiences

Tony Parisi

AH member
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone owns or otherwise had experience with the Merkel 141 in any caliber. What are your impressions? I understand that regulation of the barrels can be adjusted by the shooter to alter point of impact for different loads and distances. How has that system worked for you in actual practice? How much adjustability is there? What kind of accuracy at, say 100 yards (scoped), would one reasonably expect to achieve? Thanks!

I was wondering if anyone owns or otherwise had experience with the Merkel 141 in any caliber. What are your impressions? I understand that regulation of the barrels can be adjusted by the shooter to alter point of impact for different loads and distances. How has that system worked for you in actual practice? How much adjustability is there? What kind of accuracy at, say 100 yards (scoped), would one reasonably expect to achieve? Thanks!

Hi Tony, I have no experience with this rifle but am interested also. It is for sale new on Euro-Optic for $9995.00 in .470 N.E. This is for the -1. The -2 is in rimless calibers for $7500. My understanding is that you do not want a sxs rifle in a rimless caliber. They have an extra part (plunger) within the extractor. This is one more part that can possibly malfunction at the worst of times if hunting dangerous game. If you are using a -2 in .375 H&H on a kudu or zebra, probably doesn't matter. There are some out there who completely disagree with this line of thought. I will be following the thread to see what hopefully some of the experts have to say.

Thank you for the insight. I was actually referring to the petite-framed Merkel 141, based on the 28 gauge frame, not the big 140 series dangerous game guns. I'm thinking more along the lines of a 7x57R, 30R Blaser, 9.3x74R, etc, etc. Something appropriate for some plains game, or just plain old deer hunting in the woods of the U.S. Thanks!

Hi Tony Parisi,