AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI
Hunted
South Africa, Mozambique, Zambia, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Canada, Kyrgyzstan
I see in the book "Shooting The British Double Rifle" that the author refers to using a lead sled. I recall seeing in more than one place that they should not be used for fear of breaking stocks. I also believe that Caldwell may even say they don't recommend use over .416. Does anyone out there have any experience with them? I am going to try and regulate my .500 a little closer and lets face it a lead sled would make it a more enjoyable process.

I've no experience with them, but I've seen a model at Cabela's which has hydraulic dampening to it, the Hyskore Dangerous Game. The description says it is good up to .416, not sure how it would handle your .500.

I have a lead sled and have been using it while testing accuracy of hand loads in my .416 Rigby. Somewhere along the line, I'd heard (or read) about the risk of cracking the stock of a big bore.

Instead of using 2 or 3 bags of shot (50-75 lbs) in the tray of the sled, I've been using only one. The sled will skid backward 1-2 inches with each shot, but with the reduced weight, there is some "give" in the system. So far, no issues.

The physics of this are pretty straight forward. The more weight on the sled, the more it is like a solid, immovable object.

You'll have to decide what you want to risk with your own rifle. You might want to consider starting with no shot bags on the sled. It's pretty heavy on its own.

- browningbbr