Howa 6.5x55

martin may

Reaction score
Hi I am new at this
I have just purchased a Howa 6.5x55. Could you please advice with the reloading spec's for the use of 140gr with Norma brass. What make of bullet would you recommend as well.
Thanks.
Martin

If you use google and put in 6.5X55 reload data you will get a lot of pages that have great info to work with. I like to E-mail them to myself. Edit what I want and then print it. That then goes into my reload book for reference.
What kind of animals are wanting to hunt? That and type of terrain will determine bullet selection. The accubond will work rather well in that caliber. good luck. Bruce

If you email me at Dougs50cal@gmail.com I have a bunch of data from my Tikka T-3 Lite in 6.5X55. I shoot over my chrono and for accuracy at 100 yards using a bag under the forearm only and the buttstock in my shoulder. I shoot 5 round groups.

Put 6.5X55 in the subject line so I do not trash it.

Hi I am new at this
I have just purchased a Howa 6.5x55. Could you please advice with the reloading spec's for the use of 140gr with Norma brass. What make of bullet would you recommend as well.
Thanks.
Martin

Hello martin may, and welcome to this forum,

Even though it began as a Military cartridge, (well over a hundred years ago?) it has by reputation, become one of the best hunting cartridges on earth for things like deer, black bear, wild boar and quite a few African species (within reason).

Low recoil and the fact that most rifles made for it have been accurate, plus with 140 gr bullets, it shoots plenty flat enough for longer shots if needed.

Many of today's 6.5 bullets are generally of higher quality (tougher) than yesterday's bullets were and so, not as much meat is lost to shattered bullets today / penetration is better than it used to be, generally speaking.

All these things make it a very good choice.