HI, ya'll.

Bwannabe

AH member
Reaction score
Media
Ok I am new to hunting abroad. Wait maybe I should say overseas. Traveled the world for Uncle Sam, hunted some braids back then. But seldom got to hunt for animals.

Planning my first trip to RSA in June 2014. Plains game.

I drop in to the DSC show last Jan and wow is about all I can say.

Does anyone have a detailed list of how to schedule all this stuff. What I mean is I can get there and back just fine.

But shipping the skins back, seems to be some big dark secret.

I have seen Flora Fauna, Coppersmiths and Wells and it seems they just do want to talk and explain stuff unless you have a shipment ready and waiting. The info is pretty much not available.

Is there anyone whom can guide me along on planning the return trip and trophy, they will be dipped and shipped.

Thank you. Bwannabe.

Getting your trophies home is pretty simple, not cheap, but simple. Your outfitter will get you set up with a dip and ship operation. They will prepare each of the pieces for shipment ($). Then they arrange for them to be air freighted to your destination of choice ($). Once in the US they will have to be blessed by a customs broker ($). Then the USFW will inspect them (I think that there is also a charge for that). Finally, you have them in the US (presumably at your taxidermist). Then you have to make the final decision of what to mount and how to mount it ($).

If you want an idea of cost for dip and ship, talk with your outfitter. I think that for my plains game hunt in Namibia, the dip and ship cost around $1,000. However, I don't recall the exact amount.