Hello

TnProHunter

Reaction score
My name is Mark. I'm new here but not new to hunting. I have been hunting for nearly 40 years. I live in east Tennesssee. We have a large variety of game both large and small. And our "dangerous game" consists of mainly black bears and wild hogs, or Russian Boar, depending on which hunting area you happen to be in.
My big gun, and the one I always carry in areas containing Bears and wild hogs, is the Marlin 1895G Guide Gun, chambered in .45-70 Govt. I reload, which keeps costs reasonable, a d with a wide variety of bullets, from the Hornady LeveRevolution 300 gr soft point up to the Garrett 500 gr solids, as well as my own 475gr hard cast lead flat nose solids, I never feel "undergunned". I'd love to try it in Alaska in the big bears as well as on the Dark Continent against the Big 5 (or Big 6, with the rightful inclusion of the Hippo) while obviously being backed up by a PH with some large caliber persuasion! Any other Big Bire Lever gunners here? Lets talk about it!

Welcome to AH TnProHunter! Looking forward to having you here...

Glad to have you on board Tnpro. Sorry but I don't know anything about 45-70's. Good luck.

Welcome to AH.

Welcome to AH!

Welcome to AH !

Welcome to the forum, and looking forward to your input. The 45-70 is one of the best cartridges ever made by man........ I don't know/think you will find yourself hunting the big five with it though, unless you can get it to 458wm specks, which in turn might destroy your beloved Marlin. Not trying to be a downer, you just may want to buy another rifle for the 5. Hell, just an excuse to buy another rifle, right.

Welcome..you will really enjoy this forum. The knowledge base here is fantastic with really good people!