Hello Good People

MediumMadness

Reaction score
Member of
NRA, VSSA, ATA, NCRR shooting club
I'm new to this excellent venue. I've been hunting for some time, but not for dangerous game. This will change someday, but for now I've acquired my first heavy rifle, so I'm here to learn about it, how to fix it up for this game, and how to shoot it properly from field positions.

Welcome to AH MM! Don't keep us in suspense, what's the story on the rifle?

Well, from a financial planning angle, it was an impulse buy, but in reality it wasn't because I had wanted a heavy rifle for many years. When I ran across this gun with a good deal, I saw an opportunity to obtain my first heavy, with the opportunity to tune it up, wring it out, and learn to shoot it well. With that completed, I'll finally have the ability to hunt something larger and more dangerous than deer. It's a Model 70, manufactured about 10 years ago, in LN condition. The previous owner bought it new, shot it a few rounds, and recently decided to sell it on consignment in my friend's gun shop. Since I'm very fond of the Model 70 and greatly admire the history and overall performance of the 375 Holland round, I decided this was my new heavy rifle. This gun has a 3 round box magazine and a CRF bolt.

So y new quest, after taking it to the range for the first time, is to bed it, set up the iron sights for DG (I'll need help wth that), scope it with some decent glass with enough quality to handle the recoil, repad and balance the gun, and make sure I get a good quality hunting trigger pull. I know all this would be taken care of in advance if I had the Franklins to buy a better gun, but with two daughters in college this was my best option.