Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
SCI
Hunted
USA, S. Africa
I just found this site this evening and have been enjoying reading the threads. I would say I've been hunting all of my adult life, but my wife keeps reminding me that I've not yet grown up! So suffice to say I've been hunting for the last 23 years. I started hunting back east in Maryland and have hunted in Virginia, Texas, Iowa, Idaho and now in Arizona.

Last year at the Sportsman's Expo I booked a 6 day safari in South Africa with Ethan Thomas of Didimala Safaris. My wife and I and hopefully another couple will arrive on July 1st, 2010. A long ways off, but I'm beginning to think more and more about it. This will be my first trip to Africa and I can hardly believe I'm finally going.

My hunt includes Gemsbok, Kudu, Springbok, Impala, Blesbok, Black Wildebeest in the package. I'm also thinking of adding a Nyala or Waterbuck to the mix.

Any and all advice is welcomed. I consider myself an experienced hunter, experienced enough to know that I know nothing about hunting Africa.

Welcome Phil,
I am going on my first safari soon. The info provided on this and other sites is very helpful on a rather complicated process. Fell free to ask as many questions as you like. There are lots of very experienced people to help.

Hi Phil, I think you bought a great package deal! I'm going to hunt Waterbuck, Nyala, Kudu, Eland....etc. next month and can't wait to get to Africa. Which Province will you be hunting? There is a ton of information on this site. I would also look into whether you were going to have the taxidermy done in Africa or the USA and how you are going to ship it back to the USA. But initially I think you are going to have one heck of trip to Africa.