Hello from Idaho

Jcordell

AH member
Reaction score
Media
Member of
National Rifleman Association, DAV
Hello. I'm a lifelong gun collector. I focus mainly on revolvers , but I like all types of vintage firearms. I'm currently a police officer and I served 14 years in the United States Army (1986-2000). No combat tours. I'm not a hunter, but the past few years I've become fascinated with African hunting and dangerous game hunting. I'm also a member over on the NE forums where I go by Checkman. I figured it was time to stop lurking and just join. I probably won't be the most active member but hello. I especially like the way you folks who hunt Africa have such a strong appreciation for the history of African hunting. I hope nobody minds having an armchair warrior in the ranks.

Welcome!!!

Thank you for your service.

You'll find some gun nuts here as well and if you like big bores you will have a good home here. Africa is definitely an addiction for most of us. Enjoy the site!

Thanks for the welcome. About eleven ago I was given the opportunity to fire a classic FN Mauser in 375 H&H and a pre-WWII Mauser Type A Sporter in 404 Nitro. The gentleman also had another Mauser in 318 Westley Richards, but I didn't fire that one since he was short of ammo. I was hooked.

Welcome to AH!

Welcome to AH Jcordell! It's nice to have you as part of our community and I hope you enjoy it here.

Hello Jcordell from a one time resident of Pocatello, ID!

welcome to the forums! If you spend too much time on here you'll probably find yourself taking a trip to Africa haha.
Thank you for your service and stay safe.

No issues with anyone being an armchair warrior.

Welcome.​

Welcome Jcordell!

Hello and welcome from another Idahoan!

Welcome to the site. You can learn a lot about the big bore rifles here even if you never hunt. But like a previous post said, if you stay here long enough, you will likely visit Africa!