First SA hunt, father/son, plains game. Ideas? Suggestions?

gutterdoc

AH veteran
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA
Hunted
US(AZ, AK, CT, IA, MT, NC, OH, TX, WY) South Africa
Hello all at AH,
Newbie here. I have been reading and looking around for quite some time and now is time for everyone to weigh in. My dad and I are going to SA in 2015. We plan on hunting plains game for 10 days. We have the guns and the gear, but are torn between a couple of outfitters. I cannot find a bad thing about either one of them and therefore I look to the forum for ideas, suggestions, pros, cons, etc. We are not looking for record breaking animals, unless they happen to cross our path. We would like a fine representation of the animal and the story of a good stalk, hunt, shot etc. That means more to us than a 60" Kudu. The time frame for the hunt is late May early June, hopefully to celebrate my father's birthday while we are there. The two outfitters we have looked closer into are: Cruiser Safaris and Wes Hixon's Outdoor Adventures. They are very close in pricing and amenities. One includes VAT, the other not. The list of animals would include a Kudu, Gemsbok, Impala, Warthog, Zebra, Wildebeest, and possibly a Bushbuck or Blesbok.

Cruiser Safaris: 10 Day Hunt 2x1
$5175
Kudu, Gemsbok, Impala, Blue Wildebeest, Warthog, Steenbok or Dukier.

Substitute Blesbok for Steenbok or Dukier ADD $175
Zebra ADD $1175

VAT $378

$5175 + VAT= $5553
Zebra, Blesbok= $1350
GRAND TOTAL= $6903
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wes Hixon's: 10 Day Hunt 2x2
$6250
Kudu, Gemsbok, Impala, Warthog, Zebra, Bushbuck

Blue or Black Wildebeest ADD $850

VAT Included

$6250+ $850 (Wildebeest)=$7100
GRAND TOTAL $7100

I look forward to any and all responses. If someone has comparable pricing on similar packages, please let us know. Just trying to compare apples to apple from reputable PH"s and outfitters.

Thank you