Finally getting the hang of shooting sticks

Catahoula

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
I've been practicing off of the shooting sticks and have not been overly satisfied with my groupings. I made some changes based on some things I've read on here and saw some improvement today. I found I had the sticks set too low forcing me to hunch over. I also was not loading them enough. My results from today, 8mm Rem Mag, four shots at 80 yards.

sticks_zpsz5wvolnr.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Nothing like technique to improve your shooting.

Shooting off sticks definitely took some getting used to. I started shooting basketball sized groups at 100 yds. Lots of practice has me down to 2-3 moa groups and I'm consistently able to hit the metal 400m target on our range.

The advise here on AH had been invaluable.

Nice shooting !(y) It's certainly fun to watch the training pay of!

If that's your grouping, I would not be worried.

Very good! Keep shooting like that and you will do really well.

Looks like minute of Kudu to me. There is nothing like practice and a little advice to tighten up those groups.... Looking good. Bruce

Nothing wrong with that. You'll be just fine. I bring my own sticks when in Africa, I love the bog pod with the single rest platform, real steady.

I have been practicing with my wife, including a ton of smallbore at 50 and soon to go to 100 (with my 17 hmr). Will start with high power stuff soon. Practicing with both a monopod (quite a challenge I may add) and bipod sticks, with the theory that if I can do well with 1 or 2 legs, 3 will seem like a luxury.

A question for everyone though, on bipod and tripod sticks, do you prefer to hold the sticks at one point or use the forearm of your rifle and just let the sticks alone support the rifle? I am newer at using them as well and was curious. I found better results using the no hands on the stick method.