Culling in Africa

Werdus Smith

AH member
Reaction score
Media
Hunted
Namibia RSA
Good day everyone
I am a culling operator or game harvester or whatever you want to call a person taking large amounts of game animals for their carcasses instead of trophies.
I am not a hunter. I am a harvester and have been for the last 12 years. I will be posting a few pictures of this practise on this site. I will post them under "other pictures" as the animals were not hunted, they were culled. If anybody wants to make any comments, or want to know more about harvesting practises, I will explain it fully.
Greetings
Werdus Smith

watermark.php

Harvesting equipment for culling

watermark.php

View from freezer truck to field abattoir for culling

watermark.php

1800 Litre stainless steel watertank with hotwatergeyser, stainless steel basins, gasbottle and pressurepump

watermark.php

Springbuck culling

watermark.php

Springbuck on field abattoir

watermark.php

Culled Springbuck on field abbatoir

watermark.php

Oryx Culling

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello Werdus.

We have the same (regulated) practise here in Australia for kangaroos (under a tag system). When a population reaches excessive number, tags are issued to licensed shooters who can then cull the excess kangaroos which are them processed. Nil waste.

Payment is per kg for the prep'd animals which are stored in a central 'chiller' for collection.

Werdus

we will be looking forward to your future post...

What is done with the culled animals...

Werdus, post away. Look forward to learning about it.
It is part of the process to keep the critters under control.

I would like to get in contact with an Australian game harvester for interest sake. Is there an overseeing organisation I could contact who can put me in touch with someone doing the harvesting?

Welcome to the forum, Werdus !