Conservation Through Hunting?

Rich219

AH member
Reaction score
Deals & offers
I watch the shows with Ivan Carter on the Outdoor Channel and follow his page on Facebook and he is always mentioning the idea of "conservation through hunting." I'm new to the whole hunting Africa thing and due to this I lack the knowledge to fully understand how much foreign investment from hunters/sportsman affect conservation efforts in Africa.

I don't know why but this topic peaks my interest. From the surface you would thinking that hunting would be decreasing the quantity and quality of game in Africa but from the little reading I have done it appears to be just the opposite. Can anyone go into a bit of depth on the subject of how foreign investment (I don't know if that is the exact term you would use but that is the term I'm familiar with) has resulted in an increase in animal quantity and quality as well as a repopulation of animals that were once on the way to extinction?

Without going into all the intricacies, before sport hunting became popular game animals only function was to eat farmers crops and ranchers pasture. African pasture BTW is sparse and meager to begin with. The Landowners, by SA law, own the animals that are on their land whether penned in or just passing through and as such were prone to killing off the competition. Nowadays game is worth more sold to a foreign hunter than the pastuer/crop that he eats so $$$ talks and the farmers/ranchers have a viable reason to preserve native game. Game ranchers found that the expense of setting up a fenced property with all the essentials to keep game populations at their peak and the expense of bringing in and allowing non-native game to reproduce and increase in number was offset by the revenue that they could get from allowing foreign hunters to hunt them.