Boela

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
Zululand Hunters & Conservation Association, South African Hunters Association, PHASA
Hunted
South Africa, England, Wales, Austria, Swaziland, US: Idaho, Alaska
This is no hunting report, but rather the tale of one of my fondest hunting memories I had whilst hunting with my Father.

Whilst studying in the Free State, I managed to land myself a job on a game farm over weekends and during University holidays. Here I got exposure to the hunting industry and being a student, I had to save hard in order to buy myself my first hunting rifle. This came in the form of a secondhand Musgrave 30-06 that I bought from a friend’s father. I eventually received the license days before one of my winter holidays started.

Dad and I got invited to hunt Gemsbok in the Kalahari. I managed to get a few days off from my holiday work, and returned to our family farm in the Natal Midlands in order to prepare for the upcoming Kalahari hunt a day before we were set to depart. With my very early morning arrival back home, Dad and I set out developing a crack load for my newly acquired Musgrave.

After sighting the rifle and a couple of test rounds fired in the after noon, I still had 4 rounds left and with a few hours of daylight remaining, I casually told Dad “lets go shoot a Bushbuck quick”….. yeah right! Go shoot a Bushbuck on a cattle farm with free range game quick – never! Well knowing that we still had to pack and load Dad’s Hilux, reload enough rounds for our Kalahari hunt and take care of a the last few chores we had to attend to, we went on our “quick Bushbuck hunt”.