Contributor
AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Gents:

At last my latest double arrived.

It is a Rigby box lock ejector, caliber .350 no2.

It shoots a 225-grain bullet approximately 2550 fps.

The specs are as follows:

26-inch barrel

weight of 9 1/2 pounds

15-inch pull.

leaf sights for 100-200-400 yards (yes, no 300)

original scope mounts

with original case and label

completed 1943 for a Captain Stigand

(1943-really? During the middle of WWII? That's what the letter says.)

Bores are excellent. I hope to shoot it after the 4th.

Should be fun. I've no experience with a double this small!!

This rifle will be at the shoot in AK on the 18th. All are welcome.

This gem came from Australia. The first attempt at exportation was denied as the exporter didn't have me sign the following statement for the Aussie gov't. No BS here, gents, this is what I had to do:

"John Rigby and Co. Double Rifle, cal. 350 n02, serial # 18xxx

I hereby confirm that I possess the necessary permit(s) or certificate to hold the firearm stated above in the USA. I confirm that the goods above will not be used for purposes associated with chemical, biological, or nuclear weapons or missiles capable of delivering such weapons, nor will they be resold if I know or suspect that they are intended or likely to be used for such a purpose…I confirm that the goods, or any replica of them, will not be used in any nuclear explosive activity or un-safeguarded nuclear fuel cycle."

Can you imagine the intelligence level of the government official who thought up such nonsense? So, you readers of my books and followers of my website can rest assured my Rigby won't be used for any nuclear, chemical, or biological weaponry. But, my new .350 no2 can be used for safeguarded nuclear fuel cycles.

I'm glad I have had more yesterdays than I have tomorrows with the current state of the world.

Cheers,

Cal