3D Archery Targets Banned

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Africa' started by IdaRam, Aug 4, 2014.

1. IdaRam

IdaRam AH Senior Member

My Photos:
    Member of:
    NRA Life Member, North American Hunting Club Life Member, Wild Sheep Foundation
    Hunted:
    Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, Alberta Canada
    More insanity from the Peoples Republic.

From the CBH Newsletter

Last week I was informed by a local blog reader that the El Dorado Park (Long Beach, CA) archery range we know and love has disallowed use of 3D animal targets effective immediately. I was shocked as I have been using 3D animal targets at the range for over five years with no issues. Using the 3D animal targets allows us to better prepare for hunting season. I read this excerpt in the California Bowmen Hunters newsletter about the change;
    There was a recent ruling at the El Dorado Archery Range, by the Long Beach Parks and Recreation Department, that disallows the placement of...and shooting at... 3D animal targets in front of the butts on this range. This is a practice that has been enjoyed by target archers and bowhunters for years without problems.
    This ruling was based upon two women who had observed an archery class being taught by Marcus Bossett. They were aghast at seeing youth shooting at 3D Animal Targets and demanded that the park stop this terrible practice.
    The “terribly offensive” class is called “Instinctive Archery” and Marcus has been using his own personal 3D targets for his students to shoot at so they know how to shoot and score all of the tournaments held in California which includes the 3D tournaments.
    These two women managed to cause a sweeping policy change that includes the entire archery range and anyone who comes to enjoy it.

The full text can be viewed here
    http://socalbowhunter.blogspot.com/2014/07/no-3d-animal-targets-allowed-at-el.html

I guess 3D archery is the "gateway drug" to hunting :eek: Can't have that now can we?

2. BRICKBURN