Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
OFAH, DSC
Hunted
South Africa, Canada, USA
I am just learning about sheep hunting and all that entails (very cool BTW). I came across this article in which Craig Bodddington seems to dismiss the '06 in favour of..well pretty much every other cartridge I can think of. Is the '06 really not an appropriate sheep cartridge when you consider all the other cartridges he says are workable?

http://www.rifleshootermag.com/rifles/featured_rifles_sheep_061305/

If a 270 will work, and Jack O'Connor got a lot of sheep with his, the 30-06 will work fine. 165g accubond long range bullet at 2900 fps should do just fine. I have a 270 Weatherby but rarely use it, it's just too heavy for the amount of extra range/power over my 7.5 lb 270 Win.

Three things I consider:
Weight, (you have to pack that thing up the mountain.)
Flat shooting is the key.
Confidence at distance.

Options for reloading the 06 have changed, as colorado noted.

I like my 270. I have packed the 300WM up the hill sometimes though.

Brickburn is right - considering these factors more of an issue than the particular caliber.

Brickburn is spot on I have several killed sheep and goats mtn hunting is tough the shots are 200-350yds so you need a flat shooting gun that you are good with and can carry around in the mtns. choice is yours. fyi I always take a 300WM it is a heavy beast but it reaches out and touches a long ways! sheep aren't hard to kill but mtn goats now thats a diff story!! I advise a bipod and prone as usually plenty time to shoot and it all wide open. enjoy the mtns which sheep are going after?

Jack O'Connor killed a sheep with a .348 Winchester lever action!

Thanks guys. I was envisioning 150gr GS Customs for a flat shooting round and then Mr Boddington poured cold water on my little fantasy.