Results 1 to 9 of 9

SOUTH AFRICA: Second Safari hunt report...

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Second Safari hunt report... within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Well. I have returned from my second plains game safari to South Africa. Again, I hunted with Spiral Horn Safaris ...

  1. #1
    GaryO's Avatar
    GaryO is offline AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    54

    Member of NRA

    Hunted South Africa

    GaryO has no Articles
    GaryO has no Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Second Safari hunt report...

    Well. I have returned from my second plains game safari to South Africa. Again, I hunted with Spiral Horn Safaris and could not be more pleased. The owner's name is Louis van Bergen and he is also the PH. Lou met me at the Johannesburg airport to pick me up after helping me clear my hunting rifle through the authorities. Easy as pie. Those that are paying $100 for that service might take note. I arrived rather late so the decision was made to spend the night at a bed and breakfast before driving to the Limpopo Province where my 10 day hunt would take place.
    Let me say that the service, food and accommodations were just as fine as frog's hair. The hunting equipment and staff where all I could expect. There was the PH; Louis, the Assistant PH; Danie, trackers Robert and Jotham, the chef; Toetsie and chalet staffer Sina. All were as helpful and as attentive to my needs as can be expected out in the African bushveld. The food and drinks were excellent. The chalet I stayed in was comfortable with a firm bed and hot shower.
    The rifle I took was a Model 70 Winchester Sporter (CRF) in 30-06 topped with a Leupold VX3 3.5x10x40mm. Probably much more scope than I needed. Most of my shooting was done with the scope set on 3.5 power and once on 6 power. My hand loads were 57 grains of Hunter powder over 180 grain Nosler Partitions. (Thanks, JB).With that one rifle and load I collected zebra (125 yards), kudu (90 yards), gemsbok (65 yards), warthog (235 yards), blesbok (180 yards) and eland ( 80 yards).

    I must say that I continue to be impressed with Nosler Partition bullets even after all these years. ( I am retired at 65 years). All were complete pass throughs except for the zebra and eland where I broke the near-side shoulder and the expanded partition was found lodged just under the skin on the off side. Those recovered bullets weighed in at around 120 grains with the front lead completely wiped away. All the animals collected were either DRT or traveled less than 100 yards. Tissue destruction inside the animals was amazing to see. I am very pleased. The eland did take a finishing shot but still did not travel that far thanks to Louis and tracker Robert. Robert was a marvel to watch work.

    My thanks to Louis, Danie Toetsie, Carien, Robert, Jotham and Sina. Very special thanks to Gustav, George and Jeanie, and Jan. See you all next hunt!

    Spiral Horn

    P.S. My first hunt with Spiral Horn was a 7 day hunt where I collected implala, blue wildebeest, nyala, waterbuck & gemsbok. Whew...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    arizona's Avatar
    arizona is offline SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    228

    Member of SCI, NRA

    Hunted South Africia, Botswana, Alaska, Canada, Most Western US

    arizona has no Articles
    View arizona's Photos

    Default

    great hunt, great hunt, thanks for sharing

  3. #3
    RickB's Avatar
    RickB is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    855

    Member of NRA lifetime, SCI Member, Longhunters LLC

    Hunted South Africa, Germany, USA (OH, NY, VA, PA)

    RickB has no Articles
    View RickB's Photos

    Default

    What's better than an African safari? Another African Safari!! Congrats on some nice trophies.
    "Ignorance is curable, stupid is forever."

  4. #4
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    Sounds like a great Safari...

    Good job...

    Your PH and trackers make you look good...
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  5. #5
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Sounds like you had 2 great hunts with Louis, Congrats on some fine trophies and thanks for sharing.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  6. #6
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,268

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Someone who has managed to do it twice...
    Congratulations. Nice Eland.


    Good job Louis another satisfied customer.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  7. #7
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,190

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunt report! Nice animals! Louis runs a top notch operation.

  8. #8
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,690

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for sharing your hunt and trophy pictures with us GaryO!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  9. #9
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,210

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    You can always trust a Nosler Partition.

    Congrats for a great hunt and nice trophies. Thanks for sharing !

Similar Threads

  1. Dallas Safari Club Show 2013 - Report From the Field!
    By TOM in forum Hunting Conventions, Shows & Events
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-11-2013, 11:12 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Top notch hunt with Hartzview Hunting Safaris - Hunt Report
    By Hartzview Hunting Safaris in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 05:42 AM
  3. NAMIBIA: Namibia Hunt Report - post-trip report
    By johncrighton in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 03:07 PM
  4. NAMIBIA: Namibia Hunt Report - pre-trip report
    By johncrighton in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-04-2011, 07:00 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting report Amakulu Safari, Kimberley!
    By Swedhunter in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-09-2011, 04:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •