Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Cruiser Safaris

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Cruiser Safaris within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Here is the Review of Cruiser Safaris upon Return: This hunt happened in September of 2012. I was picked up ...

  1. #1
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Cruiser Safaris

    Here is the Review of Cruiser Safaris upon Return:
    This hunt happened in September of 2012.
    I was picked up at the Afton Guest house after spending the night from my flight. The Representative from Cruiser was one of the PH痴 and was very nice and friendly. We stopped at a farmers market on the way in Hartebeestport and I couldn稚 believe how much produce we got for 100 dollars (enough to fill the back of the van). We were finally in camp after about 4 hours drive and were given fresh squeezed orange juice and shown our rooms. There were only 4 hunters in camp and one wife. I elected to hunt for half of a day and got a burchell痴 zebra. Over the next 10 days I hunted very hard. We stalked and stalked and spotted and spotted. What impressed me most was the excellent tracking skills of my PH who could differentiate superior tracks from the so so animal. Out of the 12 animals I claimed on this hunt, I had 5 that were tracking candidates do to either poor bullet placement or just African toughness. Most of my shots this trip were presented at a frontal quartering angle and I surely will be changing to Barnes bullets in upcoming trips. The PH痴 will also work they e hardest to get you the best animal. They will not let you take just an animal.
    The properties we hunted were numerous and the outfitter Pieter made sure that we got to experience much of the terrain of Limpopo. I really liked the hill country or mountain properties. Much thorn and rock was to be found on all of the properties. We did wait at a few waterholes but never took an animal at any of these.
    The food was very good and we could eat until you looked like a fat hog. Each night when we returned, there was cold beer or most kinds of liquors available. I just drank beer.
    The lodge was very nicely decorated, warm , and comfortable(lots of hot water). The rooms were always clean with laundry being done daily and clothes pressed. The beds were equipped with mosquito nets which did well as mosquitoes were just starting to make an appearance. The land cruisers were very good even though we had a habit of getting a few flats on this trip. (I wonder how foam filled tires would work in that area?)
    All in all this was an excellent trip with many good animals to view, many good properties to hunt, superb PH痴 that could out hunt probably any North American guide, and wonderful accommodations. After 10 days of being there, I would highly recommend using this outfitter.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    295

    Member of SCI, RMEF

    Hunted Limpopo, Eastern Cape,Natal

    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures has no Articles
    View Blue Skies Hunting Adventures's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on a great safari, cruisers does it again, makes me excited for my trip next year. How was the weather during your trip?
    Brian
    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures
    www.blueskieshunting.com

  3. #3
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,755

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your hunt report and trophy pictures.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  4. #4
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,212

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on a great hunt and nice trophies.

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. #5
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default

    We had rain on the first day, but not too much. One hunter had hail. Most of the days were clear to partly cloudy with low's in the 40's F to highs in the 80's F and of course wind was strong on a few days.

  6. #6
    Nevada Wapati's Avatar
    Nevada Wapati is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    94

    Member of NRA, SCI, NAHC, RMEF, NBU, WSF

    Hunted Namibia, RSA

    Nevada Wapati has no Articles
    View Nevada Wapati's Photos

    Default

    Very nice animals, conratulations. What type of bullet were you using that you're unhappy with?
    Thanks for the report & photos.

  7. #7
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,271

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Congratulations and thanks for sharing your hunt on AH.

    Looking at the pictures I wonder if the Kudu had to be tracked a ways?
    I would also like to know what bullets you thought were under performing.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  8. #8
    jeffpg is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    124
    jeffpg has no Articles
    View jeffpg's Photos

    Default

    Wonderful hunt with great trophies to show for it.

    Congratulations on a fantastic Safari, and thank you for sharing with us.

  9. #9
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default

    I used Hornady SST 180 grain in a 300 Win. Mag. I only got full penetration on impala size and down. My first safari in Namibia I used Rem core lockt in 180 300 win Mag. I did much better with these. They also shoot better out of my gun. On this trip I did more shots through brush and almost all presentations were quartering frontal. The kudu did need some tracking for it was about a second or two quick shot through about a 6-12 inch gap between a thorn bush. All's I can say is the PH can track like nobody I have seen.

  10. #10
    davidhein's Avatar
    davidhein is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    110

    Member of SA Hunters, SA Wingsooters

    Hunted South Africa (Limpopo, North West, Free State, Mpumalanga, Kwa-Zulu Natal)

    View Articles by davidhein
    davidhein has no Photos

    Default

    Well done again! Really great animals again. Two trips in two years! Thats awesome
    Congratulations

  11. #11
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    295

    Member of SCI, RMEF

    Hunted Limpopo, Eastern Cape,Natal

    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures has no Articles
    View Blue Skies Hunting Adventures's Photos

    Default

    By the way who was your PH if I may ask.
    Brian
    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures
    www.blueskieshunting.com

  12. #12
    garyleach's Avatar
    garyleach is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    146

    Member of Local clubs

    Hunted Canada and RSA

    garyleach has no Articles
    View garyleach's Photos

    Default

    Great pics/trophies, congrates

  13. #13
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default

    Johan the younger was my PH.

  14. #14
    Arinjit is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    83
    Arinjit has no Articles
    View Arinjit's Photos

    Default

    Great trophies. Congratulations.

  15. #15
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,192

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunt report and pictures.
    Cruiser Safari, I hear nothing but good comments.
    You took some really outstanding animals! That blue wildebeest is really nice!

  16. #16
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on a great hunt and some really great trophies. I wish You would have ask about the SST befor you went on your hunt I would have warned you there great for smaller animals Impala/ Blesbok size they'll still get the job done on bigger animals but you may have to track them for a while, try Hornady GMX, Nosler Etip or Barnes X they all do a much better job. the one thing I found that I didn't like about the SST is after penatrating the skin they act like a frag grenade what was your experience with them?
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  17. #17
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default

    Exactly the same results with that bullet. On the eland, I did a finishing shot from 10 yards, and it did not penetrate. We found them in the intercostal muscle between the ribs. The next time I go, I will be trying Barnes X and I would like to try them in 338 win mag or 375 on eland. Not because I feel a 300 mag class is inadequate, I just want to see performance in bigger calibers and premium ammo.

  18. #18
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    You'll be real happy with the Barnes X thats what I reloaded for the wifes 3006 in a 180gr at over 300 yards on both a Zebra and a Red Hartebeest through both shoulders found aginst the skin on the other side with 100% bullet remaining and perfect pedals the PH had to show them to everyone very inpressed.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  19. #19
    PARA45's Avatar
    PARA45 is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    38

    Member of NRA

    Hunted US, Nicaragua, South Africa

    PARA45 has no Articles
    View PARA45's Photos

    Default

    Congratulations! I hunted with Cruiser Safaris 20-31 Jul of this year, and my wife and I had a great experience. My PH was John (Juan); Johan is one knowledgeable and great individual! We are planning on going back in 2014-15. Thanks for sharing!

  20. #20
    VanderLaan is offline AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70

    Member of SCI, Quail Forever, NAVHDA

    VanderLaan has no Articles
    VanderLaan has no Photos

    Default

    Did you leave any animals for anyone else? Very nice trophies. That BW is a bruiser.

    I shot 180 grain Barnes TTSX out of my .06 and got pass through on every animal I shot. Most fell over and died right there. My Kudu, Wildebeest and two impala fell on their noses. The only animal that ran any distance was the Gemsbok and that was after a double lung shot. After what I saw, I will shoot no other bullet.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: First Safari... Cruiser Safaris
    By Tom071 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-20-2012, 11:07 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: South Africa Safari with Cruiser Safaris
    By PARA45 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 06:56 AM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: First trip to South Africa Cruiser Safaris
    By P3FE in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 08:05 PM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: Cruiser Safaris 7-09-11 -7-24-11
    By Alaska Hunter in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 09:52 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: First Safaris with Cruiser Safaris in Limpopo.
    By whitehorse in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 07:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •