Results 1 to 11 of 11

NAMIBIA: Hunt with Van Heerden Safaris

This is a discussion on NAMIBIA: Hunt with Van Heerden Safaris within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Here is the review of Van Heerden Safaris: This trip happened in September of 2011. After spending the night at ...

  1. #1
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default NAMIBIA: Hunt with Van Heerden Safaris

    Here is the review of Van Heerden Safaris:
    This trip happened in September of 2011.
    After spending the night at Afton Guest House, I woke to a great breakfast and flew to Windhoek, Namibia. After going through the rifle paperwork, I was greeted by the Outfitter Hentie Van Heerden. Being my first time to Africa, I got acquainted with Hentie on the 2 hour drive to the hunting camp. I was the only hunter in camp and stayed in a very nice guest house on the farm. After shooting the rifles, we went out driving and looking for game. The area we started out in was very flat but brushy and thorny. We saw many animals and I was looking forward to the next 9 days. During my hunt, we drove and spotted and stalked many times. We hunted many properties during my hunt and there were always many properties to see. Some of the properties were flat, and others were very hilly. Some were thick and brushy, others were open. I was amazed at the number of Hartebeest and Oryx we saw on this trip.
    I hunted with Hentie for half of the trip and another PH during the second half. Both PH痴 are extremely skilled and know there stuff. Hentie is by far, one of the funniest and pleasant guys to hunt with that I have ever encountered. I felt as if we were best friends and knew each other for a long time.
    The food was farm fare and was excellent. You could eat and eat, and when you returned from the hunt there was plenty of beer or whatever you liked. Beware though; Henties sundowners contain very little soda!!
    The accommodations were very comfortable and warm with plenty of hot water. I stayed in 2 different areas as I was also hunting zebra which were not in the first local.
    The animals were excellent and we passed on several as the PH痴 only wanted mature trophy quality animals. Most of my shots on this trip were facing away quartering shots that were ideal for my confidence. I had one animal I flubbed up on this trip and didn稚 want to make a repeater on this.
    All in all, I would have to highly recommend this outfitter for people wanting to hunt across the pond. I took 7 animals on this trip and couldn稚 have been more pleased. From start to finish, Hentie and Denise Van Heerden showed professionalism and warm family hospitality that I was hoping for.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,290

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Congratulations on a very successful first hunt.
    Great landscape variety in those trophy pictures.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  3. #3
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,762

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for sharing your time in Namibia last year!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  4. #4
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,213

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats for your hunt and nice trophies !

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. #5
    davidhein's Avatar
    davidhein is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    110

    Member of SA Hunters, SA Wingsooters

    Hunted South Africa (Limpopo, North West, Free State, Mpumalanga, Kwa-Zulu Natal)

    View Articles by davidhein
    davidhein has no Photos

    Default

    Some really fine trophies!
    Congratulations and thanks for sharing

  6. #6
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,199

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the picture and the hunt report. Wow, some stunning trophies. I like the look of that red hartebeest!

  7. #7
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,600

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on a fine hunt and great trophies, Thanks for sharing. When are you planning your next trip? you know you want to go.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  8. #8
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,968

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    Very well done. Sounds like a fantastic trip. Lots of very nice animals. Congrats.
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  9. #9
    bcarper is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    159

    Member of SCI,NAHC,

    Hunted USA, South Africa

    bcarper has no Articles
    View bcarper's Photos

    Default

    Congratulations on your hunt! Nice trophys! Brian

  10. #10
    cmnhunt's Avatar
    cmnhunt is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Member of NRA

    Hunted USA (Alaska, Florida, North Carolina, West Virginia,Pennsylvania, Ohio, Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada (Quebec, Ontario), Namibia, South Africa (Limpopo)

    cmnhunt has no Articles
    cmnhunt has no Photos

    Default

    If I could get off work, I would go tomorrow. But truly, I'm kind of saving for a cape buffalo hunt in the next year or two.

  11. #11
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,600

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmnhunt View Post
    If I could get off work, I would go tomorrow. But truly, I'm kind of saving for a cape buffalo hunt in the next year or two.
    Yeah Cape Buffalo are high on my list as well but like you thats one that this blue collar worker has to save for. One day though one day.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: Top notch hunt with Hartzview Hunting Safaris - Hunt Report
    By Hartzview Hunting Safaris in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 05:42 AM
  2. NAMIBIA: Anyone Bow Hunted in Namibia with Van Heerden Safaris
    By morton3825 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2011, 12:29 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 06:50 AM
  4. NAMIBIA: Caprivi Buffalo Hunts in Namibia with Van Heerden Safaris
    By Paul in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 09:53 AM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 11:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •