Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Namibia Hunting Safaris

This is a discussion on NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Namibia Hunting Safaris within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Hello, I've spent the last month or two reading through as much information on the forum as I could. I ...

  1. #1
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Namibia Hunting Safaris

    Hello, I've spent the last month or two reading through as much information on the forum as I could. I will be heading to Africa for my first hunt in April (I have visited Botswana and South Africa before for a photo safari). I have narrowed my location down to Namibia. I will be doing a plains game hunt while I am there. My hope is to get a Zebra, Kudu, Wildebeest, Gemsbok, and a Baboon. I plan to bring my .308 with some good bullets. Reading through namibiahuntingsafaris.com which is Ozondjahe Safaris, they seem to have good reviews from prior clientele and seems to be a professional straightforward website. I wanted to see if there was anyone here who has personal experience with this outfitter? Good/bad? Would you recommend? Thank you.

  2. #2
    TOM's Avatar
    TOM
    TOM is offline AH Elite
    Joined
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,595

    Member of SCI,DSC, QDMA, QU

    Hunted Africa...are there other continents to hunt?

    Default

    I would highly recommend them. I book for them and have had excellent reviews. They are in the final phases of a new lodge and should have pictures up soon. Their prices are very good. In a nutshell, you can't go wrong. Please feel free to message me if you want more information.
    Tom

  3. #3
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,602

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Though I have never hunted with them Yet! I can tell you that they have had nothing but good reviews and knowing the people associated with them I would highly recommend this outfit and hope to have the pleasure of hunting with them sometime in the near future myself. Bob
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  4. #4
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,602

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    By the way eizenjin91 Welcome to AH!
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  5. #5
    Cliffy's Avatar
    Cliffy is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,072

    Hunted Hunted Zim, RSA (2), Namib(2), going again, Calif, Oregon, Arizona, Texas, Virginia, Idaho, South Dakota, Montana, Nevada, MO

    Cliffy has no Articles
    View Cliffy's Photos

    Default

    I've hunted Namibia twice with Jamy Traut but Tom is correct in that you will have a great time with Ozondjahe. When you get back be sure to post pictures and writeups! Remember-
    IF YOU GO ONCE-YOU WILL RETURN-DEAL WITH IT

  6. #6
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    Thanks for all of the replies (and welcomes)! Sounds like all good views of them. Trust me if I have half of the time I hope to have ill deffinetely be returning...numerous times!

  7. #7
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,297

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    I count Jerome as a friend and he will make certain that you are taken care of.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  8. #8
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,201

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    You have made a excellent choice! Can't wait to hear about it!

  9. #9
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,216

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Welcome to the forum, eizenjin91.

    All of us here believe Jerome will take good care of you. By the way, he has leopard and cheetah at excellent prices !

  10. #10
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    Very glad to hear such great reviews! I feel very confident that I made the right choice. Now the biggest problem I have is that I've read every page of their website 5 times and have to wait till April! lol. Quick follow up question. I plan to bring and hopefully shoot all of the animals listed with my .308 Surgeon rifle. I have heard on other sites that I shouldn't use M118LR for hunting are yall in agreement here that it isn't the best round to use?

  11. #11
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,602

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eizenjin91 View Post
    Quick follow up question. I plan to bring and hopefully shoot all of the animals listed with my .308 Surgeon rifle. I have heard on other sites that I shouldn't use M118LR for hunting are yall in agreement here that it isn't the best round to use?
    even though I used a Browning .308 for my hunt in June it's a little light for some of the game you have listed I would recommend something in a larger .30 Cal unless you just get lucky and get all close shots.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  12. #12
    gillettehunter is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    467

    Hunted Namibia, Kyrgyzstan South Africa

    gillettehunter has no Articles
    View gillettehunter's Photos

    Default

    It may not be ideal, but don't tell Mariys Gosen [another PH on AH] that. I think that is his preferred caliber. Use the rifle that you are comfortable with. Earlier this year OUTDOOR LIFE had an a article on the 6.5 Creedmore in Africa. Hunting African Plains Game with the 6.5 Creedmoor | Outdoor Life
    He killed a Eland with it. The .308 has a good bit more power than the 6.5. Use a good quality bullet and shoot straight. Practice lots off of the sticks. If you do your part you won't have any problem. Bruce

  13. #13
    Divernhunter is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    113

    Member of Life member NRA and NAHC Escalon Sportsmans club and Coalinga Rifle Club

    Hunted USA, RSA

    Divernhunter has no Articles
    Divernhunter has no Photos

    Default

    M118LR?? Is this a round of ammo? Mil load? Just wondering as I do not remember that as a hunting round and I do allot of loading etc.

  14. #14
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    Yeah I suppose its like most hunting, the accuracy of your shot counts more than the size of the hole. Yes its US issue 175gr SMKBTHP. Thats why I was asking how it would do as a hunting round. It shoots sub MOA.

  15. #15
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,216

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    That s military ammo, supposedly very accurate, but FMJ. Definitely no.

    Use a premium hunting bullet, Federal makes a round with a Nosler Partition bullet which should be adequate, and there are surely others.

  16. #16
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    It's a Boat Tail Hollow Point. Isn't it not FMJ?

  17. #17
    adgunner's Avatar
    adgunner is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    183

    Hunted Canada (AB,SK,ON,QC,NB,NS) USA (TX,ME) DRC (Poachers) South Africa

    adgunner has no Articles
    View adgunner's Photos

    Default

    It is a sniper match type ammunition, the hollow point is there for stabilization and does not expand, therefore it would make a poor choice for a hunting bullet in my opinion. There are many great bullets out there better than this one for your needs, but i will leave that to one of the PHs on here to recommend.

  18. #18
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adgunner View Post
    It is a sniper match type ammunition, the hollow point is there for stabilization and does not expand, therefore it would make a poor choice for a hunting bullet in my opinion. There are many great bullets out there better than this one for your needs, but i will leave that to one of the PHs on here to recommend.
    Great info thanks that makes alot of sense.

  19. #19
    Divernhunter is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    113

    Member of Life member NRA and NAHC Escalon Sportsmans club and Coalinga Rifle Club

    Hunted USA, RSA

    Divernhunter has no Articles
    Divernhunter has no Photos

    Default

    That is why I asked? Any mil round is designed not to expand under the rules of war. It would be a very poor choice no matter how well it shoots. A commercial expanding bullet is what you want. Nosler partition is good as is Swift A-frame or Barnes TTSX. If you do not load all are out there in commercial ammo.

  20. #20
    eizenjin91 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    8
    eizenjin91 has no Articles
    eizenjin91 has no Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Divernhunter View Post
    That is why I asked? Any mil round is designed not to expand under the rules of war. It would be a very poor choice no matter how well it shoots. A commercial expanding bullet is what you want. Nosler partition is good as is Swift A-frame or Barnes TTSX. If you do not load all are out there in commercial ammo.
    Sorry my mistake. I'm still new to bolt guns and learning about bullets. I had thought that a hollow point by design was made to expand I didn't know the military hollow points were designed for stability and not to expand. Don't mean to turn this in to an ammo discussion under this forum but if you don't mind could you post up just a bit more info regarding military hollow points not expanding versus commercial hollow points?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Safaris New lodge
    By poprivit in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-17-2013, 06:34 PM
  2. Osonjiva Hunting Safaris Namibia
    By Osonjiva Hunting Safaris in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-28-2012, 11:56 AM
  3. NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Hunting Safaris August 2010
    By threadfin in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 10:57 PM
  4. 2012 HUNTING PACKAGES - Kowas Hunting Safaris, Namibia, Africa
    By Kowas Hunting Safaris in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 05:52 AM
  5. NAMIBIA: Ozondjahe Safaris May 2009
    By Paul Brisso in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 01:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •