Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Koedoeberg

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Koedoeberg within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Came back from an amazing hunt with Koedoeberg safaris last sunday. This was my third trip to South Africa and ...

  1. #1
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Wolverine67 has no Articles
    View Wolverine67's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Koedoeberg

    Came back from an amazing hunt with Koedoeberg safaris last sunday.
    This was my third trip to South Africa and this time I brought my friend Stig with me.
    We where picked up at Johannesburg airport by Willem Faul, the owner of Koedoeberg. A comfortable two hour drive later, we arrived at Koedoeberg gamefarm.
    A beautiful hunting ground with plenty of animals. Flat areas, both densly bush and open plains gave room for mountains on both sides.

    The arrival day we did some shooting and sat in blinds for a couple of hours. A great dinner ended the day.

    The first hunting day we did some driving, looking trough the dense bush and the plains before we went into the mountains. We saw a lot of animals, especially kudu and several of them was pretty big. Late evening we caught up with a huge kudubull and Stig got his first African animal. A real heavyhorned 52 inch bull.

    jag trond 030.jpg

    The second day Stig and Ricus did some walking looking for gemsbuck and I did a drive looking for waterbuck. In the evening we sat in blinds with bows. I manage to graze a impala female with an arrow and we never saw her again, even after thoroughly searching. Bad shooting from me.. Later we took a trip to a neighbouring farm and looked for bushbucks. We saw several females, but no male.
    That night we did a night drive looking for night critters, but did only see a lot of impala and kudu.
    The third day we sat in blinds again and I was lucky enough to get a really nice waterbuck in. Since it never came within bowrange I took him with the rifle. A heavybodied and thickhorned, 26 inch waterbuck, one of my main goal for the trip was secured and I was in heaven...

    P8140368.jpg

    Stig took an impala female with a great shot with the bow.

    P8160400.jpg

    That day we was invited to dinner at Willems place and we had a delicious meal and a great time. After dinner we drove back to the lodge. On the way Stig did a great shot on a porcupine.

    P8140374.jpg

    The fourth day started with looking for bushbuck. I manage to miss at a nice ram in the morning and my mood was not too good. After lunch my PH Renier spotted an even bigger ram and I took him with a couple of shots. My nemesis, the bushbuck was finally mine, and I was extremely happy! Renier was exceptional good at spotting animals. I didnt see the ram before I lifted my rifle and even then I couldnt see that it was a huge ram, but I trusted Renier on his word when he said it was a very good ram.

    jag trond 056.jpg

    After lunch we went for another lodge, the Wilgekrans lodge. I will come back with that part of the story later.
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

  2. #2
    Diamondhitch's Avatar
    Diamondhitch is offline AH Legend
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,309

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Canada (AB, SK, NWT, BC) USA (NM, TX) South Africa (Limpopo, KZN, Free State, Eastern Cape, Northen Cape), Kyrgyzstan

    Diamondhitch has no Articles
    View Diamondhitch's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on the Bushbuck. thats sounds like the start of a very good hunt.
    The journey is the reward.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    295

    Member of SCI, RMEF

    Hunted Limpopo, Eastern Cape,Natal

    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures has no Articles
    View Blue Skies Hunting Adventures's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on a good hunt, love that Bushbuck and that Kudu is nice as well.
    Brian
    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures
    www.blueskieshunting.com

  4. #4
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    Like the porcupine...great trophy

    nice recap and pictures...
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  5. #5
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,271

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Waterbuck, Bushbuck and more to come...
    Nice Kudu to boot.
    Congratulations.
    Looks like you did well with Koedoeberg so far.
    Thanks
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  6. #6
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,968

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    I really love hearing about your success. Congrats, Willem is a great guy and loves the hunt.
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  7. #7
    fvh40's Avatar
    fvh40 is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    102

    Member of SA HUNTER,PHASA.WRSA.

    fvh40 has no Articles
    View fvh40's Photos

    Default

    Well done and thanks for sharing.

    Nice Bushbuck
    Ferdi Venter
    Out Here I'm Free.
    Ferdi Venter Hunting - South Africa
    ferdiventer@gmail.com
    www.ferdiventerhunting.com

  8. #8
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Wolverine67 has no Articles
    View Wolverine67's Photos

    Default

    Thanks guys.

    Wilgekrans gamefarm and lodge are situated in a steep valley/gorge with a permanent stream running trough. There are waterfalls and dams right next to the lodge. Its a very nice lodge in a scenic location.

    We drove up along the gorge and I have never seen than many bushbucks and nyalas in one place before. You could probably easily bowhunt a big nyala by walk and stalk. And bushbucks and mountain reedbucks as well. Amazing.

    We was to spend our two last nights in this lodge. Stig was looking for impala and warthog and I was looking for blue wildebeest and impala.

    Late evening we came across a very nice impala and Stig took it with one shot after a short stalk.

    P8160411.jpg

    The next day we drove up in the highveld looking for blue wildebeest and pigs.

    We soon conected with a herd of wildebeest and Renier spotted a bull standing by him self to the left in the herd. It was not a big bull, but I thought he was good enough, so I took him with a singel shot. Wildebeest was not my primary goal for this trip, but it is nice to add an animal to the colection...

    jag trond 074.jpg

    Just a few hundred meters away from where I shot the bull, we came across a wildebeest cow with a broken leg. Stig and I took her out of her misery with a couple of bullets. Unfortunately I dont have pics of the cow.

    We also came across a dead eland cow with some pigs feeding upon it. Stig missed on the biggest of the pigs.

    After lunch Stig shot a extremely old sow, skinny and infested with parasites...The PH`s said it was the ugliest pig they have ever seen...

    jag trond 092 (1).JPG

    Later that evening we came across a herd of impalas, with a huge ram. I quickly took a shot at the ram from about 60 meters range. I thought it was a good shot, Stig thought it was a good shot and Renier thought it was a good shot. The ram disappeared over a little ridge and we never saw it again....After tracking blood spoor for about 400 meter, the spoor disappeared. For me it was a terrible feeling, but I realized that my shot had hit the ram too far behind. The ram probably died within a few hundred meter, but with thick bush it isnt easy to find an animal. My only hope is that the local trackers will find it when it starts to smell. Its my first lost animal and its no good feeling.

    Late evening we came across a kudu like I have never seen before. A magnificent 58 to 60 inch huge bull. If my little budget could afford it I would have shot that bull instantly. I did have the crosshair on his shoulder...I think his spread between the tips must have been 50 inches...

    That evening we had potiekos and local produced moonshine...(plus a bottle or two with Johnny Walker)

    The sixt and last day we went back to Koedoeberg for the final round. I took it easy and wanted to join Stig for a blesbuck hunt.

    After locating a herd of blesbuck we tryed several times to stalk upon them, but they was very skittish. Finally we came within range and Stig took a big ram with a very nice shouldershot at 200 meters range.

    jag trond 096.JPG

    With this was our adventure over for this time and we lined up for a group photo.

    jag trond 107.JPG

    I would highly recommend Koedoeberg as a hunting destination and outfitter. The hunt are amazing, though challenging due to a lot of bush, the food is excellent and the lodges is very nice. The guys at Koedoeberg are very friendly and obviously live for the hunting. Willem stretch himself as far as possible to tend to his clients and I am proud to call him, Renier and Ricus my friends.

    Trond
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

  9. #9
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,755

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for sharing these moments and pictures with us! Glad to hear that you had an amazing hunt!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  10. #10
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,212

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats for a great hunt and very nice trophies. Thanks for sharing.

  11. #11
    spike.t's Avatar
    spike.t is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,556

    Member of sci int, basc

    Hunted zambia, tanzania, zimbabwe, hungary, france, england

    Default

    wolverine good to see you had a great time with your friend, more great memories to keep you going till the next time.

  12. #12
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,271

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for sharing your hunt.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  13. #13
    davidarizpe's Avatar
    davidarizpe is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    191

    Member of BBFT Mexico,SCI New Monterrey Chapter,IHEA

    Hunted Zimbabwe, USA, Mexico , Central America, Kyrgysztan, Scotland

    davidarizpe has no Articles
    View davidarizpe's Photos

    Default

    CONGRATULATIONS. WELL DONE.
    NEW SCI CHAPTER MONTERREY MEXICO

  14. #14
    Stretch's Avatar
    Stretch is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    621

    Hunted USA , Canada, Botswana

    Stretch has no Articles
    View Stretch's Photos

    Default

    Very nice memories forever. Sweet.
    When I am not hunting, I am thinking about hunting....I think I'll go hunting.

  15. #15
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Wolverine67 has no Articles
    View Wolverine67's Photos

    Default

    Thanks again guys. It was a hunt that will be remembered.
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

  16. #16
    sestoppelman's Avatar
    sestoppelman is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,197

    Member of NRA, NA Hunt Club

    Hunted Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe (2), Namibia, South Africa

    Default

    Sounds like you had a great hunt all in all. Very nice bushbuck. I love the spiral horn critters, my favorite. You done good!!

  17. #17
    svinejakt is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    103

    Member of OJJF

    Hunted Norway, South Africa

    svinejakt has no Articles
    svinejakt has no Photos

    Default

    Grattis Trond
    Seems like a great experience. Glad you finally got your bushbuck Bushbuck is high up on my list!!
    Hunted Norway and South Africa, so many places left:)

  18. #18
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,192

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the pictures and the hunting report Trond. That's really nice bushbuck!

  19. #19
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for sharing Trond once again you've had another great hunt and you are right that Wildebeest was good enough those are all some fine Trophies Congrats to you and your friend. Bob
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  20. #20
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Wolverine67 has no Articles
    View Wolverine67's Photos

    Default

    Thanks guys. Thanks Bob. I think the wildebeest skin will be a nice rug on my trophy room floor...
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: Great hunt with Koedoeberg
    By bwanadefender in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 08:07 PM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Fantastic hunt with Koedoeberg Safaris!
    By Tchristensen in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 09:28 AM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Koedoeberg Game Lodge
    By roguex in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 04:02 PM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: Free Hunt for 2 from Koedoeberg Safaris
    By nkjonas in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 08:22 PM
  5. Free Hunt for Two Hunters from Koedoeberg for 2011
    By Koedoeberg in forum FREE Hunts & Giveaways
    Replies: 208
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 03:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •