Results 1 to 16 of 16

SOUTH AFRICA: BOWHUNT: Huntershill Safaris-East Cape

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: BOWHUNT: Huntershill Safaris-East Cape within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; A resounding ten! That's the score I would give to Huntershill Safaris if hosting a bow hunt was an Olympic ...

  1. #1
    iamyourhuckleberry's Avatar
    iamyourhuckleberry is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    258

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Australia ( Northern Territory), New Zealand ( both the North and South Island), Namibia, RSA, England, Scotland, Argentina, Canada (Northwest Territories, Quebec, Alberta, Ontario), United States (WA,AZ,CO,NM,WY,NE,TX,OK,KS,SD,LA,MO,IL,KY,MI,OH,PA,NY,MD,NC,FL,AK)

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: BOWHUNT: Huntershill Safaris-East Cape

    A resounding ten!

    That's the score I would give to Huntershill Safaris if hosting a bow hunt was an Olympic sport. They performed flawlessly. I was treated like royalty, and I look forward to a potential return trip in 2014.

    My travel companions and I arrived in Johannesburg on the 18th of July-five people total. We had ten solid days of hunting ahead of us, and we were well prepared to make the most of our adventure.

    Day one through three had my group in and out of the Mpumalanga Province of South Africa. We hunted five female Cape buffalo on a 40,000 acre concession south of Kruger Park, very near the Mozambique border. By the end of day one, three rifle hunters had their buffs in the bag. We two archers were not successful until day two. While approaching a waterhole, we (my PH Rusty Coetzer and I) surprised by a group of 40-50 cows, young bulls and calves. It was from this group that I was able to land a perfect double lung/heart shot on an unsuspecting buff. I buried a 745 grain arrow and a 300 grain VPA broadhead from an 80 pound PSE X-Force through both sides. The buffalo trotted 30 yards and collapsed. She was finished in less than thirty seconds. Naturally, this was one of the highlights of my trip-preparation and dedication made short work of a game I've wanted to play for the last four years.
    IMG_02991111.jpg
    We spent day three driving 13 hours to the Stormberg Mountain in the East Cape. It is here, on the 55,000 acre Wildschutzberg Game Reserve, Huntershill Safaris calls home. It was awesome to be back among friends! And I must say, these mountains are a spot and stalk bow hunter's paradise! The vast broken terrain provides ample opportunities-a place where your hunt can be easy [blinds] or difficult [on foot]. You get to decide! Quality and quantity of game is superb!

    In the end, seven magnificent animals will make their way back to America. Two were taken from a blind (genet cat and zebra). The rest were arrowed from the ground, after a belly crawl and/or a good pursuit.

    I am terribly sorry for passing over details, but I would like to save the particulars for an article. It is more important at this time to give a call out to Huntershill Safaris for an absolutely wonderful adventure. They truly went above and beyond! A huge THANKS to Rusty Coetzer and Boyce Frans. Your two are the best!
    IMG_0486111111.jpgIMG_04401111.jpgIMG_041511111.jpgIMG_3293.jpgIMG_0769.jpgDSC00416.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    The will to succeed isn't nearly as important as the will to prepare to succeed.

  2. #2
    Diamondhitch's Avatar
    Diamondhitch is offline AH Legend
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,309

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Canada (AB, SK, NWT, BC) USA (NM, TX) South Africa (Limpopo, KZN, Free State, Eastern Cape, Northen Cape), Kyrgyzstan

    Diamondhitch has no Articles
    View Diamondhitch's Photos

    Default

    Congrats, that is an absolutely beautiful bushbuck! and a daytime Genet! Looks like you did really well. That would have been a great drive down as well. there is some really beautiful country through there.
    The journey is the reward.

  3. #3
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,268

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Nice trophies all round.
    That is a gager of a Bushbuck, especially walk and stalk with a bow.
    Congrats.


    Up close on Buffalo with a pointy stick is an experience you don't soon forget!

    Reserve the rights to republish here.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  4. #4
    Don_G is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14

    Member of RMEF, NRA

    Hunted USA, Canada, Mexico, RSA, TZ

    Don_G has no Articles
    Don_G has no Photos

    Default

    Sounds great! Let us know when you publish.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    295

    Member of SCI, RMEF

    Hunted Limpopo, Eastern Cape,Natal

    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures has no Articles
    View Blue Skies Hunting Adventures's Photos

    Default

    Looks like it was a fantastic trip, Can't wait to hear about your stalk on that Bushbuck.
    Brian
    Blue Skies Hunting Adventures
    www.blueskieshunting.com

  6. #6
    iamyourhuckleberry's Avatar
    iamyourhuckleberry is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    258

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Australia ( Northern Territory), New Zealand ( both the North and South Island), Namibia, RSA, England, Scotland, Argentina, Canada (Northwest Territories, Quebec, Alberta, Ontario), United States (WA,AZ,CO,NM,WY,NE,TX,OK,KS,SD,LA,MO,IL,KY,MI,OH,PA,NY,MD,NC,FL,AK)

    Default

    Thanks everyone,

    The bushbuck was another highlight. He makes up for an encounter I had four years ago. Good friend, Tony Sansalone from Texas, shot this bushbuck (see picture below) with his rifle two days after I had him within six yards. Amazingly, this 15 inch male was bedded on a hillside above an orange orchard. I had managed to position a single thorn bush between him and me-wind in my face. I was in the process of drawing my bow (I had found a gap in the branches) when my PH rolled a rock with his foot. The rock tumbled downward sending the ram fleeing.
    Attachment 12866

    On this last trip, three hunters and two PHs traveled south towards East London from Huntershill. Our main pursuit was low fence Kudu. The vegetation further south was much thicker and leafy green. At dawn we spied several bushbuck-mostly females-but they disappeared as quickly as they appeared. We dropped down into a dense valley. Upon cresting the the other side, my bushbuck was spotted feeding at the edge of a clearing. I abandoned the truck and made good use of abundant cover. I ranged the bushbuck at 43 yards, he was quartering away. On the shot the ram stepped forward. My arrow sliced his femoral artery. He was bleeding profusely. I advanced and delivered a second shot through his boiler room. At 14.25 inches per horn, he's a SCI top ten contender, and the last of my required spiral horned animals.

    Yes Diamond, the daytime genet was another added bonus. Two vervets chased him right to me. I pinned him to the ground with a 34 yard shot.
    The will to succeed isn't nearly as important as the will to prepare to succeed.

  7. #7
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Congrats again Will on a fantastic hunt those are some Beautiful animals Glad Rusty was able to come through for you he's the Best he's been my PH for the last 2 trips. Bob

    Be sure to post a review on the Outfitters page for Hunterhill Safaris if you havn't already.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  8. #8
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iamyourhuckleberry View Post
    Thanks everyone,

    The bushbuck was another highlight. He makes up for an encounter I had four years ago. Good friend, Tony Sansalone from Texas, shot this bushbuck (see picture below) with his rifle two days after I had him within six yards. Amazingly, this 15 inch male was bedded on a hillside above an orange orchard. I had managed to position a single thorn bush between him and me-wind in my face. I was in the process of drawing my bow (I had found a gap in the branches) when my PH rolled a rock with his foot. The rock tumbled downward sending the ram fleeing.
    Attachment 12866

    On this last trip, three hunters and two PHs traveled south towards East London from Huntershill. Our main pursuit was low fence Kudu. The vegetation further south was much thicker and leafy green. At dawn we spied several bushbuck-mostly females-but they disappeared as quickly as they appeared. We dropped down into a dense valley. Upon cresting the the other side, my bushbuck was spotted feeding at the edge of a clearing. I abandoned the truck and made good use of abundant cover. I ranged the bushbuck at 43 yards, he was quartering away. On the shot the ram stepped forward. My arrow sliced his femoral artery. He was bleeding profusely. I advanced and delivered a second shot through his boiler room. At 14.25 inches per horn, he's a SCI top ten contender, and the last of my required spiral horned animals.

    Yes Diamond, the daytime genet was another added bonus. Two vervets chased him right to me. I pinned him to the ground with a 34 yard shot.
    Sounds like you went to the same Private reserve that I went to for my Warthog.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  9. #9
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    nice safari ... like the bush buck...
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  10. #10
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,190

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    That is a gager of a Bushbuck, especially walk and stalk with a bow.
    Congrats.
    That's a understatement! That's a awesome achievement!

  11. #11
    iamyourhuckleberry's Avatar
    iamyourhuckleberry is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    258

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Australia ( Northern Territory), New Zealand ( both the North and South Island), Namibia, RSA, England, Scotland, Argentina, Canada (Northwest Territories, Quebec, Alberta, Ontario), United States (WA,AZ,CO,NM,WY,NE,TX,OK,KS,SD,LA,MO,IL,KY,MI,OH,PA,NY,MD,NC,FL,AK)

    Default

    I'm not sure Bob. I didn't see any buildings like that on the place where we hunted this trip. We may have come in from a back way though. It was dark while we were driving and arriving.

    Can do on the outfitters report...
    The will to succeed isn't nearly as important as the will to prepare to succeed.

  12. #12
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,210

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on agreat hunt and very nice trophies. Thanks for sharing !

  13. #13
    Stretch's Avatar
    Stretch is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    621

    Hunted USA , Canada, Botswana

    Stretch has no Articles
    View Stretch's Photos

    Default

    Wow! Sweet! Your huge smile tells the story. I am very happy for you Huck.
    When I am not hunting, I am thinking about hunting....I think I'll go hunting.

  14. #14
    INGOZI's Avatar
    INGOZI is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    339

    Member of ABO, SCI, SABA

    Hunted South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Zambia, United States

    Default

    Congrats on your successful safari and great trophies! Thanks for the info!
    Elite Archery Pro Staff - Winners Choice Pro Staff - Muzzy Pro Staff - Tightspot Pro Staff
    Professional Hunter & Outdoor Writer

  15. #15
    Norwegianwoods's Avatar
    Norwegianwoods is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    981

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, England, South Africa

    Norwegianwoods has no Articles
    View Norwegianwoods's Photos

    Default

    Congrats and well done!
    I love your Bushbuck!

    I am very much looking forward to my stalking hunt with my bow next year!

    Thanks for sharing.

  16. #16
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,690

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your hunt report and trophy pictures! Always valuable to anyone looking at hunting in Africa!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

Similar Threads

  1. Huntershill Safaris Cape Buffalo Hunting Special $10,000USD 2012/2013
    By Bobpuckett in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-26-2013, 02:35 PM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Info on hunting outfit East Cape Safaris?
    By Nitro Express in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 08:13 AM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Back from East Cape South Africa Huntershill Safaris
    By Bobpuckett in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 07:33 PM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: Anyone hunted with Huntershill Safaris (Eastern Cape)?
    By JamieD in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 08:23 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: Trip Report - browningbbr - East Cape
    By browningbbr in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 03:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •