Results 1 to 14 of 14

SOUTH AFRICA: NUMZAAN SAFARIS WILD WILDEBEEST LODGE, MIKE WATRIDGE (PH)

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: NUMZAAN SAFARIS WILD WILDEBEEST LODGE, MIKE WATRIDGE (PH) within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; To all: Below is a recount of our experience with Numzaan Safaris staying at the Wild Wildebeest Lodge, and Mike ...

  1. #1
    SRPI is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    SRPI has no Articles
    View SRPI's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: NUMZAAN SAFARIS WILD WILDEBEEST LODGE, MIKE WATRIDGE (PH)

    To all:
    Below is a recount of our experience with Numzaan Safaris staying at the Wild Wildebeest Lodge, and Mike Watridge as a PH--- This could be long, so if you're looking for a quick review:

    --- Wonderful outfitter, great accommodations, and an excellent PH- Top Marks all the way around

    I had actually bought a hunt that was donated to our local (Midland, TX) CCA fundraiser. My plan was to have one of my hunting buddies accompany on this trip. Unfortunately for them, they were too scared to make the trip across the "pond" and my wife volunteered to tag along. She did not grow up in a hunting family, and I had only introduced her to the prospect of hunting 2 years ago, just before we were married. Originally, she wanted to harvest a few animals (springbok slam), and then turn the other animals over to me. Oh how that changed.

    We were able to coordinate with Numzaan's business office flawlessly. We arrived in Jo-Berg late in the evening, and were picked up by the owners of Afton House where we stayed the first night. Mike (PH) arrived early the next morning, and we were off to the Free State for our first phase of the Safari. We were able to harvest all four phases of the springbok, and a really nice black wildebeest in the first two days.

    Upon completion of the Free State Phase, we were whisked to the Limpopo Province, where we arrived at the Wild Wildebeest Lodge. As far as hunting lodges go, this one was way up there as far as accommodations. The food was spectacular, the wine was awesome, and the individual rooms and beds were comfortable to say the least.

    We spent the next 9 days hunting large ranches (32,000-14,000 acres) and harvesting bushbuck, 2 zebras, 3 warthogs, blue wildebeest, kudu, gemsbok, blesbok, red hartebeest, waterbuck, and impala (18 animals total). Remember when I said my wife wanted to kill a few small animals and turn it over to me? Final total was Wife 11 animals (3 warthogs, impala, gemsbok, zebra, 3 springbok, waterbuck, and a bushbuck). I was left with the rest (which between us, was the way I wanted it). My wife is officially hooked.

    I could not have asked for a better experience. These guys possess the ability to cater to whatever their clients may require. Absolutely perfect for wives, families, or buddies with whom you've hunted for years.

    I have to give a special thanks to Mike, our PH. Mike always had a cunning plan, and typically it worked. He was the perfect combination of hunting skills, intensity, and service. One could really tell he's been doing this for 19 years. He even went so far as to take me and my wife on a Cape Buffalo search which gave us 3 encounters at <50 yards. We were scouting for a older gentleman in camp who could not travel well, and we were out in front looking for them. It was the most exhilarating time of my hunting career. His dog Milo is awesome as well On my next trips to Africa, I want Mike involved in the hunting.

    I will happily recommend this company to everyone.

    Thanks again to Numzaan
    Our PH - Mike
    Camp MGR- Tonie
    Camp MGR- Jorika (Tonie's wife and awesome cook)
    Office -Stef (Owner) and Lennete


    Other PH's in camp
    Johann
    Konnis
    Jean Louis
    Aldo
    Jean
    Sean

    Dogs In Camp
    Milo, Mauser, Hunter, Swapo, Ruby, Anna Bella, Raja, Ruger,

    DSCN4235.jpgDSCN4197.jpgDSCN4223.jpgDSCN4240.jpgIMG_1574.jpgIMG_1778.jpgIMG_1492.jpgIMG_1457.jpgIMG_1426.jpgIMG_1416.jpgIMG_1408.jpgDSCN4217.jpgDSCN4253.jpgDSCN4266.jpg

  2. #2
    Diamondhitch's Avatar
    Diamondhitch is offline AH Legend
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,309

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Canada (AB, SK, NWT, BC) USA (NM, TX) South Africa (Limpopo, KZN, Free State, Eastern Cape, Northen Cape), Kyrgyzstan

    Diamondhitch has no Articles
    View Diamondhitch's Photos

    Default

    Another killer is born! Congrats, both on the hunt and turning your wife to the dark side.
    The journey is the reward.

  3. #3
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Welcome to AH and congrats to you and your wife for a great hunt and fantastic trophies. Thanks for sharing.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  4. #4
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    Nice report with supporting pictures..
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  5. #5
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,276

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Welcome to AH.

    Congratulations.

    I got all worked up for a long report (we will have to show you a long report) and it was over before you really got going.
    Good report. Please do add some more hunt details.

    Your bride has a good sense of humour and you are now in trouble.
    When is the return trip planned??
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  6. #6
    SRPI is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    SRPI has no Articles
    View SRPI's Photos

    Default

    I've already booked a Zim trip for 2014 for Buff and Leopard. We WILL return to Numzaan, but the date is TBD. There's a chance my wife will book a trip and go without me! We can't wait to get back.

  7. #7
    PHOENIX PHIL's Avatar
    PHOENIX PHIL is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,867

    Member of SCI

    Hunted USA, S. Africa

    PHOENIX PHIL has no Articles
    View PHOENIX PHIL's Photos

    Default

    Congrats, some very nice animals there. The warthog on your wife's left is exceptional. A harder trophy than I think many give credit for.

    If I may ask, who did you book your buff/leopard hunt in Zim with?
    U.S. Contact for HartzView Safaris
    Email: philip.clayton@cox.net
    480-861-9232
    www.hvsafaris.com

  8. #8
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,276

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    I'd say the chance of that solo return is quite high with all the smiles on the faces.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  9. #9
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Wolverine67 has no Articles
    View Wolverine67's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the report and congrats on amazing trophies!
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

  10. #10
    RogerHeintzman is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    286

    Member of SCI (Sioux Falls, SD) RMEF, NWTF, NRA, NTA, BCSC, SDTA, NDTA, P&Y,

    Hunted Canada (Ontario,British Columbia,Manitoba), USA (Colorado,Montana,Wyoming,Texas,South Dakota), Africa(Limpopo,NW Province, East Cape, Kwazulu Natal,) Namibia

    RogerHeintzman has no Articles
    View RogerHeintzman's Photos

    Default

    SRPI

    Welcome to AH. It sounds as if hunting is first priority with your new wife. Family can come later, LOL!

    Enjoy the experiences.
    __________________________________________________ ________________________________________________

    "A Dream can be relived, again and again in Africa".
    Roger Heintzman
    Roger's Taxidermy - South Dakota
    Info@RogersTaxidermy.com
    www.RogersTaxidermy.com

  11. #11
    Norwegianwoods's Avatar
    Norwegianwoods is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    983

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, England, South Africa

    Norwegianwoods has no Articles
    View Norwegianwoods's Photos

    Default

    Congrats with a great hunt!
    You got some very good looking animals there
    Thanks for sharing the hunt with us.

  12. #12
    Jacques.strauss's Avatar
    Jacques.strauss is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    182

    Member of DSC, NAPHA, SCI, Roland Ward Guild

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe

    Default

    Beautiful trophies!!!

  13. #13
    daggaboyblog's Avatar
    daggaboyblog is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    179

    Member of Peninsular Firearms Academy

    Hunted Australia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Malta

    daggaboyblog has no Articles
    View daggaboyblog's Photos

    Default

    The quartet of springbok is difficult to pass up once you have a couple down. One to go... maybe in August!
    And yes, that is a lovely black wildebeest and a heavy bushbuck.
    Great hunting by the looks of things!
    DaggaBoy Blog - Hunting Adventures of an ordinary bloke
    w: http://www.daggaboyblog.com.au/ | e: dagga@daggaboyblog.com.au

  14. #14
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,755

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your hunting report and trophy pictures SRPI!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: Numzaan Safaris - Wild Wildbeest Lodge Hunt Report
    By hntrpro in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 01:27 AM
  2. Numzaan Safaris
    By Numzaan Safaris in forum Introductions & Greets
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 12:07 PM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting with Numzaan Safaris
    By Steve in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-22-2012, 05:25 PM
  4. Numzaan Safaris
    By Hunter Hennie in forum Hunting Africa
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-22-2012, 02:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •