Results 1 to 12 of 12

SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting report for Northern and Eastern Cape with Hunt the Sun Safaris

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting report for Northern and Eastern Cape with Hunt the Sun Safaris within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; IMG_0010.jpg IMG_0097.jpg I returned from a two week hunt with Mike Birch's Hunt the Sun Safaris based in Kimberley, S. ...

  1. #1
    Upton O. Good's Avatar
    Upton O. Good is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    188

    Member of NRA Life member, Nature Conservancy, Dallas Safari Club

    Hunted Zimbabwe, South Africa, Canada, Mexico, Louisiana

    Upton O. Good has no Articles
    View Upton O. Good's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting report for Northern and Eastern Cape with Hunt the Sun Safaris

    IMG_0010.jpg IMG_0097.jpg

    I returned from a two week hunt with Mike Birch's Hunt the Sun Safaris based in Kimberley, S. Africa. It was an incredible trip, even exceeding my first South African hunt a year ago.

    Outfitter: Mike Birch, Hunt the Sun Safaris

    Professional Hunter: Evert Bezuidenhout (an incredible young man)

    Animals hunted: bushbuck, blue wildebeest, black wildebeest, impala, duiker, steenbok, springbok, nyala, warthog, geese

    Animals taken: bushbuck, blue wildebeest, black wildebeest, impala, duiker, steenbok, springbok, nyala, geese, shelduck, guinea fowl

    Animals not taken: warthog (a half of a second more and it would have been taken, I'm gaining respect for these wary animals).

    Quality of animals: very good to excellent. The steenbok may make Roland and Ward minimums. My desire was to take trophies that were old and had "character" and Evert delivered. Animals were very wary and challenging, lots of fun.

    Firearm used: Mauser 30.06 My black wildebeest needed two shots to bring it down in spite of the first shot being through the shoulder and lungs. This is the first animal I've ever shot that got went down when shot and then got up again. All other animals dropped on the first shot or ran short distances before dying.

    Accommodations: excellent, also stayed at Africasky B&B in Jburg for one night, highly recommend their accommodations and services.

    Food: excellent All meals were well prepared using either game meats, lamb and or chicken. Several mid-day repasts were done over open fire in the bush, wonderful. (I discovered Africa bread which makes the most wonderful sandwich when joined with a little butter and chipped biltong. I declined the more "fancy" breakfast in favor of this wonderful concoction every morning.)

    Complaint: too much to see and do and not enough time. And I'm tired of the United Airlines "cattle car" approach to travel in the U.S. South African Airways did a good job on the international travel.

    IMG_0116.jpg IMG_3352.JPG IMG_0173.jpg

  2. #2
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,210

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Nice trophies ! And thanks for your hunting report.

    These black wildebeest are tough, I suppose that s why they call them the poor man s buffalo.

  3. #3
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,968

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    Sounds like a successful hunt, congrats on the crate full of animals. From the photo's, looks like you got some rain during your hunt.
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  4. #4
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,690

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your hunt report and great pictures!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  5. #5
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    Nice report.

    Sound like a great time...i also had talked to them about a safari a few years ago, looked like a good operation...however there are many of them out there and getting better each year.
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  6. #6
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,190

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunt report. Nice animals, I really love the steenbok!

  7. #7
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,268

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the report.
    Congratulations.

    Slobbering over that Steenbok and very nice Boss on the WT Gnu!
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  8. #8
    Norwegianwoods's Avatar
    Norwegianwoods is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    982

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, England, South Africa

    Norwegianwoods has no Articles
    View Norwegianwoods's Photos

    Default

    Congrats with a great hunt!
    Thanks for the report.

  9. #9
    Upton O. Good's Avatar
    Upton O. Good is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    188

    Member of NRA Life member, Nature Conservancy, Dallas Safari Club

    Hunted Zimbabwe, South Africa, Canada, Mexico, Louisiana

    Upton O. Good has no Articles
    View Upton O. Good's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 35bore View Post
    Sounds like a successful hunt, congrats on the crate full of animals. From the photo's, looks like you got some rain during your hunt.
    35bore and all,
    Thank you for your compliments and comments, we had one day of rain, and a couple of cloudy, windy days. Early mornings were chilly but we were in shirt shelves by mid-day. The mornings were great for hunting bushbuck and I was able to take my first one. This was my primary animal I was hunting and I really enjoy glassing those sunny hillsides early in the morning with the sun on my back. Great fun.

  10. #10
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Upton O. Good thanks for the report and Great Pictures, glad you had a great time the Bushbuck and Vaal Rhebuck are High on my list for next week. Congrats
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  11. #11
    Diamondhitch's Avatar
    Diamondhitch is offline AH Legend
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,309

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Canada (AB, SK, NWT, BC) USA (NM, TX) South Africa (Limpopo, KZN, Free State, Eastern Cape, Northen Cape), Kyrgyzstan

    Diamondhitch has no Articles
    View Diamondhitch's Photos

    Default

    Good looking critters congrats
    The journey is the reward.

  12. #12
    Stretch's Avatar
    Stretch is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    621

    Hunted USA , Canada, Botswana

    Stretch has no Articles
    View Stretch's Photos

    Default

    Good report. You had some fun.
    When I am not hunting, I am thinking about hunting....I think I'll go hunting.

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: BOWHUNT: Huntershill Safaris-East Cape
    By iamyourhuckleberry in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-13-2012, 10:16 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: My report on our recent family hunt with Shumba Safaris, Eastern Cape
    By controlled_feed in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 08:05 AM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting Report KMG Safaris in the Eastern Cape
    By svinejakt in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 03:58 AM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: Anyone hunt with Sun Africa Safaris in the Eastern Cape
    By srmealman in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2012, 09:26 PM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: Magersfontein Safaris Northern Cape
    By huntsolo101 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 07:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •