Results 1 to 4 of 4

MOZAMBIQUE: My Hunt with Safrique in Niassa Reserve Mozambique Oct/Nov 2011

This is a discussion on MOZAMBIQUE: My Hunt with Safrique in Niassa Reserve Mozambique Oct/Nov 2011 within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; I hunted with Safrique in late October early November of this year. I was originally supposed to hunt another area ...

  1. #1
    RickSpecialist's Avatar
    RickSpecialist is offline AH Member
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    47

    Member of SCI, DSC, NRA,Hunting Report, Magnum Hunt Club, African Hunting, Campfire Club of America

    Hunted Mozambique, South Africa, Botswana, Yucatan, Belieze, Colorado, Montana, Idaho, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Arkansas, Pennsylvania, New York, North Carolina, Florida, Mississippi, Texas, Virgin Islands, Tennesee,

    Thumbs up MOZAMBIQUE: My Hunt with Safrique in Niassa Reserve Mozambique Oct/Nov 2011

    I hunted with Safrique in late October early November of this year. I was originally supposed to hunt another area but my PH had problems with the concession. He contacted Safrique on a last minute basis and Paul Davis the PH in Safrique's L1 concession in the Niassa Reserve consented to take me on at the last minute. I had booked an 18 day lion hunt. I booked the travel throught Travel With Guns out of Austin. Safrique's man in Maputo, Dalio met me at the airport and took me to a great hotel where I spent the night and was there again bright and early in the morning to get me on the plane to Lichinga. After arriving in Licninga and spending the night, I was driven from Lichinga to the Camp in Niassa Reserve. It is a long ride but you get to see a lot of Northern Mozambique.

    I met the PH Paul Davies in the Camp. I found the camp to be excellent. It is on top of a mountain with a georgeous view of the sorrounding Niassa Reserve. The bungalos are natural rock and thatch. The bungalo was comfortable with full bathroom; sink, toilet, shower and hot/cold water. two beds to a bungalo with netting. The food was fine. Mostly game. The compound has about three hunter bungalos, one PH bungalo, kitchen, and seperate Dinning Room/Main Lodge. There is a water tower that supplies water to everyone and a large diesel genarator for power. There is another compound at the bottom of the hill that has the skining sheds and living quarters for the staff, skinners and trackers. Several miles away is another compound that houses the anti-poaching patrols (about twelve men with 12ga shotguns). They are very serious about anti-poaching in this concession

    Paul turned out to be one of if the best PH's I have ever hunted with (if not the best). He is not only a great guide and PH, he is a true conservationists with a love of the flora and fauna of his concession. He is very selective about the animals harvested and I really appreciated that. Although I did not take a lion, we saw tracks of at least three different small prides . I was able to take a great old Dagga Boy (12yrs old) a monster warthog and plains game. So, we had plenty of bait to hang. I saw a wide variety of animals. Practically everything on their list. We could have taken at least two additional Buffalo if I had wanted. There were no great herds but small groups of Dagga boys. We saw game every day but not in great abundance. It is not the Serengeti and you have to work for your animals. However, all except my zebra were old mature animals. The Zebra was for a rug so I wanted it unmarked as much as possible. I plan to return again next year for leopard.









    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,764

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your Mozambique hunt report and trophy pictures Rick.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  3. #3
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,297

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on your success.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  4. #4
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,258

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    nice pictures and story...

    When you have the time put your review of the PH & Outfitter in the outfitter section for all to use in the future.
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

Similar Threads

  1. MOZAMBIQUE: Safrique Mozambique Leopard Hunt Story
    By ajdillon in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-26-2013, 02:39 PM
  2. MOZAMBIQUE: My hunt with Safrique in Mozambique
    By WDRacer in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-30-2013, 07:00 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-2012, 11:32 AM
  4. Mozambique End of Season Special 2011 Hunt
    By INGOZI in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 04:02 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •