Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39

SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting Report from Adansonia Safaris

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting Report from Adansonia Safaris within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Well before I even start , I have to explain my tardyness . I was supposed to write this in ...

  1. #1
    milford's Avatar
    milford is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    121

    Member of fish and game Sci DU

    Hunted USA Canada south africa

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting Report from Adansonia Safaris



    Well before I even start , I have to explain my tardyness . I was supposed to write this in the beginning of June but , moving and general life got in the way . Secondly I have to thank Lorie at travel express , She made the trip over and back painless and easy , thanks again .

    Well here it goes
    Starting on the day we arrived ,
    Picked up and transported to the lodge by My PH Stehan Dekock and his wife Maja , we were treated to a great supper and then off early to bed .

    UP at 5 a quick breakfast and off to the range , a few shoots later and off we went looking for a impala , Stehan took the time to show me how to judge them before , we went by using a few that were on the wall at the lodge . We had seen tons of impala none that were what we were looking for . Just before we were going to break for lunch our driver Johnas spotted a nice one and the stalk was on . We had to skirt around a bunch of thick brush and a small hill to get into position but somehow we managed to get to about 150 yards for the shot and just like that my first african animal was down .



    Next on the list of wants was a gemsbuck , but as things go in africa , you have to be prepared to adapt . we stalked all day after a herd of about 12 but could not get into a position to take a shot .Late in the day a nice blue wildebeast stepped into the clear and my second one was down .



    We took a day to do some sightseeing and some side trips to the white lion park and on a elephant ride . Did I mention that my wife wanted to go on a elephant ride , people if you go make sure to get on the lead elephant you will figgure it out from there .

    Next two days we spent looking for a 50 plus Kudu , I had asked Stehan at the start to find me a nice kudu , all the rest I just wanted a good representative of the species , but kudu was my dream animal and I really wanted a nice one . We passed up a large number that were small, too young or just not big enough . but on the third day we spotted one off in the distance, and as we got closer it was easy to tell he was a shooter . After waiting for what seemed forever he gave us a shot and just like that number three was down .



    My gemsbuck was next and he was a product of just being in the right place at the right time .



    Next up was a Zebra and this proved to be the hardest to get for me , might of helped if I could of made a a better first shot but in the end we had it on to the bakke and home for a good meal .



    Mof and Minne Venter were some of the nicest people I have met in a while , they made sure our first trip was everything we had imagined , The food was awesome , the staff second to none . We had booked two more weeks of side trips to vic falls and to Kruger everything was top notch . My PH Stehan was great and my wife thinks PH stand for pretty hot , sorry Stehan had to do it .

    on a side note to all you jerks out there that convinced me to go , I want to tell you my retirement is now screwed , I have allready started saving for my next trip in 2013.. Mark

  2. #2
    messmate's Avatar
    messmate is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    180

    Member of Sporting Shooters Association Australia. Australian Deer Association

    Hunted Australia, New Zealand, South Africa

    Default

    Congratulations Mark...that Kudu's beautiful....something like that caps off any hunt. Your Gemsbok looks a bit thick in the coat which I haven't noticed on many of his brethren..looks good but was it a bit cool where you were to make him grow that winter woolly?

  3. #3
    milford's Avatar
    milford is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    121

    Member of fish and game Sci DU

    Hunted USA Canada south africa

    Default

    Yes i noticed that also, it was about 20 degrees there when we went . the kudu went 54.5 on one side and 54 on the other

  4. #4
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,322

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    Default

    Congratulations.
    You closed out your first trip with a lot of good trophies.
    I'm with you on the Kudu. Dream animal for sure.
    Yep, now you have to go back and get the rest.
    June with that much coat, must have been cold or he knew it was coming.
    Good luck on the next hunt.

  5. #5
    ThomasBeaham's Avatar
    ThomasBeaham is offline BRONZE SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    288

    Member of SCI, NRA Life Member, Ducks Unlimited

    Hunted Republic South Africa (Limpopo)

    Default

    Mark,
    A belated welcome back !
    I had been wondering how your hunt went, and now we know....most excellently!
    Congratulations.
    I especially like the group photo with the big Kudu. It's nice compliment to the team effort, and by the looks of your wonderful photos you had a great team.
    Man, those zebras can be a real tough nut to crack. Been there done that. Glad you got it.
    Very nice trophies one and all.
    You will never be the same. Welcome to the club. HaHahahahaha!
    Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.
    Best regards,
    Ty

  6. #6
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,211

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    Default

    Congrats Mark, you shot some beautiful animals! Everyone is nice trophy!

  7. #7
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,219

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Default

    Thanks for the report, and congratulations for your hunt, Mark.

    By the way, nice kudu

  8. #8
    sestoppelman's Avatar
    sestoppelman is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,213

    Member of NRA, NA Hunt Club

    Hunted Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe (2), Namibia, South Africa

    Default

    Whats this?! 54 plus kudu on the first trip?! Some guys have all the luck!! Well done!! Excellent animals all!!

  9. #9
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,779

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Well done Mark. Thanks for posting your hunt report and trophy pictures.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  10. #10
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,258

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    Default

    Good job Mark....as we all know like happens and other thing have to take a place in line....

    thank you for your good report and please go to the outfitter section an do a review of your PH and outfitter...for all to use in the future...
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  11. #11
    Wolverine67's Avatar
    Wolverine67 is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    542

    Member of SCI, SHAC, RW Guild

    Hunted Norway, Sweden, Poland, South Africa

    Default

    Congrats on very nice trophies. I`m jealous about your kudu...And thanks for the report.
    The best hunt are the one in your dreams, the next best are the one in your memories.

    website: www.jaktgal.com/

  12. #12
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,602

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Default

    Congrats Mark on a fine hunt and some fantastic trophies. I know what you mean putting off your retirement I've got my second trip planned for May so ritirement will have to wait a few more years for me as well.

  13. #13
    RickB's Avatar
    RickB is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    855

    Member of NRA lifetime, SCI Member, Longhunters LLC

    Hunted South Africa, Germany, USA (OH, NY, VA, PA)

    Default

    Congrats on some fine looking animals! Who needs to retire...... To many things to hunt in this world!!
    "Ignorance is curable, stupid is forever."

  14. #14
    milford's Avatar
    milford is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    121

    Member of fish and game Sci DU

    Hunted USA Canada south africa

    Default

    Thank you all , and thats what everyone said < too big for your first Kudu >

  15. #15
    sestoppelman's Avatar
    sestoppelman is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,213

    Member of NRA, NA Hunt Club

    Hunted Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe (2), Namibia, South Africa

    Default

    I'm just jealous thats all. Took me 3 trys to get one over 50, and just barely at that.

  16. #16
    milford's Avatar
    milford is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    121

    Member of fish and game Sci DU

    Hunted USA Canada south africa

    Default

    while i was in camp a doctor from the US shot a 60.5 man that was a tank

  17. #17
    sestoppelman's Avatar
    sestoppelman is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,213

    Member of NRA, NA Hunt Club

    Hunted Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe (2), Namibia, South Africa

    Default

    A friend of mine went to RSA some time ago and took what was then the new number 2 kudu. I think it went about 63 inches. I've seen it at his trophy room. A real "monsta"!

  18. #18
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,322

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    Default

    You guys talking of 60 inch Kudu has me salivating!
    Ses, snap a picture of that beast and post it would you..... Thx

  19. #19
    sestoppelman's Avatar
    sestoppelman is online now SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,213

    Member of NRA, NA Hunt Club

    Hunted Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe (2), Namibia, South Africa

    Default

    I dont have one to post. Look in your SCI book, its the one taken by Jim Cloward.

  20. #20
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,322

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    Default

    Sorry Ses, no book in my possession.
    I looked on line for the current SCI records and came up with these names under rifle. Can't find your buddy,Oh well.
    If the picture ever falls in your lap let me know.
    One way of the other a 63 inch Kudu is huge.

    Rifle
    Rank Book ID Name Score
    1 165740 David M. Tallman 158 6/8
    2 1093855 Ghaleb Al-Hamad 156 2/8
    3 123020 Shahin Aghayan 155 3/8
    4 1126499 Angus Murray 155 1/8
    5 172566 Berry Hendry 154 2/8
    6 157620 John Collins 154 1/8
    6 1119951 Angus Murray 154 1/8
    7 100227 Jean Berger 154
    8 118059 H.I.H. Prince Abdorreza 153
    9 1099852 William C. Myer 152
    10 1096882 Frank W. Schroeder 151 6/8

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: adansonia safaris
    By brtstew937 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-13-2013, 09:28 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Hartzview Hunting Safaris Hunting Report- Happy Clients kind words.....
    By Hartzview Hunting Safaris in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2012, 07:12 PM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunting Report KMG Safaris in the Eastern Cape
    By svinejakt in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 03:58 AM
  4. ZIMBABWE: BOWHUNT: Shangwari Safaris
    By INGOZI in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 05:13 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: BOWHUNT: FM Safaris
    By INGOZI in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 02:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •