Results 1 to 18 of 18

SOUTH AFRICA: Mabula Pro Safaris Just got back!

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Mabula Pro Safaris Just got back! within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; We had a great time hunting with christo and Stella Gomes of Mabula Pro Safaris!! Our PH Jurie was awesome! ...

  1. #1
    wswat's Avatar
    wswat is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Member of SCI, Dallas SCI, NWTF

    Hunted USA,CANADA, South Africa

    wswat has no Articles
    View wswat's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Mabula Pro Safaris Just got back!

    We had a great time hunting with christo and Stella Gomes of Mabula Pro Safaris!!
    Our PH Jurie was awesome!
    We arrived on the night of the 15th of August and the first day we spend driving around the hunting areas looking at all the game they have.And to tell you there was a ton would be an under statement. Towards the end of the first day we spotted a nice waterbuck and made a move on him. With one solid shot from my 300 WSW he was down. What a great looking animal he is and I'm more than happy with him!.
    Second day I ended up taken a nice Nyala with my bow and I wish I could of shot 5 more. Seems like everywhere we went there was nice bulls.
    On the 3rd day I shot a nice Kudu while hunting in the mountains right through the front shoulder but just as I pulled the trigger he turned and it broke his leg but got no vitals. So I was pretty down about that tracked him for days until Christo spotted him 3 days later and they finished him off for me so I was able to get my trophy. In the mean time I shot another Kudu which looked almost the same.
    Day 4 I shot a Impala and a Black Wildebeast.
    Day 6 I shot a zebra with a bow after 4 nights of hunting. Man they are smart animals. Day 7 we traveled sw about 3 hours to hunt Spring buck and I ended up with a nice animal. Don't know any measurments for you as to the size of the animals but looks like both Kudu were 50-51 inchs and the Impala was 24" and Spring buck was over 14" But those aren't facts until I hear back from the taxidermists.
    I have nothing but good things to say about the place. They have a lion breeding facility there so it was really cool to hear the lions at night and to see them feed those beasts! Also the accomidations we top knotch and my wife keeps saying we need to go back. And she is a non-hunter but really likes the outdoors and the experience. have nothing to compair it so since this was my first trip to Africa but it will not be my last!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunting report and great pics, glad they were able to find your Kudu for you. By the looks of you and your trophy's you had really good time.

  3. #3
    RickB's Avatar
    RickB is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    855

    Member of NRA lifetime, SCI Member, Longhunters LLC

    Hunted South Africa, Germany, USA (OH, NY, VA, PA)

    RickB has no Articles
    View RickB's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the report. Lots of nice trophies as well. Congratulation

  4. #4
    safari gal's Avatar
    safari gal is offline AfricaHunting.com SPONSOR
    Joined
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    216

    Member of Safari Club International, Dallas Safari Club, Wild Sheep Foundation, Boone & Crockett Club, PHASA

    Hunted Zimbabwe, South Africa, Namibia, Tanzania, New Zealand, Argentina and throughout North America

    Default

    wswat ~ Enjoyed your hunt report - thanks for sharing that and your trophy photos! Most people think that Zebra are easy to harvest but not normally the case. Sounds like you're "hooked" like the rest of us!

    Lori Ginn & Jennifer Ginn
    TRAVEL EXPRESS - AfricaHunting.com Exclusive Travel Specialists
    "Don't buy your tickets to Africa without calling us first!"
    800-808-4868 / 406-363-0883
    Lori - travelexpress@montana.com / Jennifer - jentravel@montana.com
    www.TravelExpressAgency.com

  5. #5
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,193

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Congrats, those are some excellent animal. Everyone is a giant.

  6. #6
    PHOENIX PHIL's Avatar
    PHOENIX PHIL is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,867

    Member of SCI

    Hunted USA, S. Africa

    PHOENIX PHIL has no Articles
    View PHOENIX PHIL's Photos

    Default

    Well done, great trophies all. I love that Waterbuck!
    U.S. Contact for HartzView Safaris
    Email: philip.clayton@cox.net
    480-861-9232
    www.hvsafaris.com

  7. #7
    wswat's Avatar
    wswat is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Member of SCI, Dallas SCI, NWTF

    Hunted USA,CANADA, South Africa

    wswat has no Articles
    View wswat's Photos

    Default

    Thank you everyone!!! One thing I can say about my PH is that we passed tons of animals that I thought were nice but he said not big enough. Maybe not the biggest ones in the world but I am more than happy with the results of the hard work of my PH. I could never do their job as it is extreamly hard. My hats go off to them for everything they do.

  8. #8
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,212

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the report, wswat, and congratulations for the hunt. Nice trophies !

  9. #9
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,257

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    The pictures and hunting report appears to show that you had a great time...way to go...
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  10. #10
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,757

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting your hunt report and trophy photos.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  11. #11
    Thunder head's Avatar
    Thunder head is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    361

    Member of NWTF, NRA

    Default

    Congrats on a fine safari,

    I have gotten alot of funny looks over the last couple of years when i tell people a Zebra is one of the hardest animals to kill with a bow.
    I have walked in the tracks of the elephant, heard the lion roar and met the buffalo on his terms. I shall never be the same.

  12. #12
    wswat's Avatar
    wswat is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Member of SCI, Dallas SCI, NWTF

    Hunted USA,CANADA, South Africa

    wswat has no Articles
    View wswat's Photos

    Default

    Also a big thanks to Lori with Travel Express for helping us with our Airline.

  13. #13
    monish's Avatar
    monish is offline AH Elite
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,520

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Tanzania, Nepal, Canada,

    Default

    Wswat,

    Congratulations !!! you have taken all monstrous trophies !!! thanks for sharing the hunt report & the pictures....

    Monish
    ITS NOT THE RIFLE BUT THE MAN BEHIND THE RIFLE

  14. #14
    wswat's Avatar
    wswat is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Member of SCI, Dallas SCI, NWTF

    Hunted USA,CANADA, South Africa

    wswat has no Articles
    View wswat's Photos

    Default

    Pictures of my Hunting partner that cleaned house at Mabula Pro Safaris.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,757

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for posting them wswat!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  16. #16
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,193

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the pictures, I'm super happy you guys had a great hunt!

  17. #17
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Fantastic animals but you and your partner have to go back all he needs is a Bushbuck for his Spiral horn Slam.
    Great Hunt what was the length on his Kudu, Eland and Nyala?

  18. #18
    wswat's Avatar
    wswat is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Member of SCI, Dallas SCI, NWTF

    Hunted USA,CANADA, South Africa

    wswat has no Articles
    View wswat's Photos

    Default

    Not sure on offical length yet. Taxidermist will send me results as soon as they dry.
    Thank you everyone.

Similar Threads

  1. Back from SA, hunted with KMG-Hunting-Safaris
    By Martin in forum Hunting Africa
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 07:42 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: BACK JUST NOW - AFRICAN SKY SAFARIS
    By BARTFRNCS in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 05:37 AM
  3. Mabula Pro Safaris in less than 10 days!!
    By wswat in forum Hunting Africa
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 10:14 AM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: I'M BACK! from Spiral Horn Safaris
    By ThomasBeaham in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 12:37 AM
  5. NAMIBIA: Back From Namibia Zingala Safaris
    By muscrat in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 04:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •