Results 1 to 5 of 5

SOUTH AFRICA: South Africa-plains game with Johnny Vivier Safaris August 2010

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: South Africa-plains game with Johnny Vivier Safaris August 2010 within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Overall impression/rating: FIVE STARS Hunt Dates: August 24th-September 1st 2010 Location: North Cape/Kimberley Travel arrangements: Gracy Travel 姫rimary air carriers-United ...

  1. #1
    Jambo is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19
    Jambo has no Articles
    View Jambo's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: South Africa-plains game with Johnny Vivier Safaris August 2010

    Overall impression/rating: FIVE STARS

    Hunt Dates: August 24th-September 1st 2010

    Location: North Cape/Kimberley

    Travel arrangements: Gracy Travel
    姫rimary air carriers-United Airlines, South African Airways
    桧vernight accommodations JNB-City Lodge TAMBO (airport)
    百APS clearance (Bruce-c/o Gracy Travel)

    Outfitter痴 web-site: Johnny Vivier Safaris

    PH: Strauss Jordaan

    Equipment: Rifles/Scopes/Ammunition:

    リ Ruger Hawkeye .375 Ruger stainless (L/H)

    リ Trijicon TR-21-3 German #4 (amber)

    リ Hornady Dangerous Game SUPERFORMANCE Ammunition 375 Ruger 300 grain round nose


    リ Montana Rifle Co. custom .275 Rigby (7x57)

    リ Leupold FX-II 4x33mm wide duplex

    リ Norma Ammunition 7x57mm (156 Grain Oryx)


    リ D誕rcy Echols custom model 70 .300 Win. Mag.

    リ Leica 4.5-14

    リ Black Hills Gold Ammunition 300 Winchester Magnum 180 Grain Barnes Triple-Shocks & 168G Berger VLD Factory HSM Golds


    Optics: PROMASTER Infinity Elite ELX 8x42 ED Binoculars


    Hunt Area: Wag 創 Bietjie base camp ~ 45 kilometers south of Kimberley in the Northern Cape region of South Africa.



    Elevation approx. 4000 feet MSL. Hunting area--approximately 40,000 acres. While we were there, fences were being dropped to join adjacent properties. Now approximately 100, 000 acres.



    Environmental conditions: High veldt-arid. Generally breezy but sunny. VERY dry. Temperature range 29F to mid-70's.

    Species taken: Impala, blue wildebeest, black wildebeest, Burchell痴 zebra, common blesbok, common springbok, waterbuck, nyala.

    Species seen and not hunted:


    膝REATER SOUTHERN KUDU
    膝EMSBUCK
    菱ARTMAN ZEBRA
    髭LAND
    肘MPALA BLACK
    紐EEDBUCK COMMON
    標ARTHOG
    稗ABOON
    稗LESBUCK WHITE
    稗ONTEBUCK
    百PRINGBUCK BLACK
    百PRINGBUCK WHITE
    百PRINGBUCK COPPER
    畢ECHWE
    疋UIKER GREY
    百TEENBUCK
    稗UFFALO
    桧STRICH
    謬SESSEBE
    膝IRAFFE
    紐OAN
    百ABLE

    ================================================== ============

    My first trip to Africa was in the early 1980痴. I didn稚 go back until two years ago when I was fortunate enough to have friends who convinced me that I needed to back欄Just this ONCE?

    As many know or will learn, going to Africa is both a blessing and a curse. A blessing for all that Africa has to offer (challenges included) and a curse because we learn that our worlds will now have a new time datum line.

    The perspective will be related to time--either the time when we were last in Africa or then time when we値l go again. Nobody had to tell me this.

    Nobody had to tell me that I壇 need to re-charge my 叢eso-pistol before going back either. Don稚 let anybody tell you otherwise揺unting in Africa is expensive. Not Bill Gates/Warren Buffet expensive but for most people it痴 a big deal.

    Thankfully, there are some very generous outfitters (in cooperation with Safari Club International and other organizations) who donate their services and to local chapters to be sold at auction in order to further the interest in hunting and shooting sports.

    Fortune smiled upon me and three others last February when I went to the SCI (San Diego) chapter annual fundraiser. I was itching to bid on a hunt. There have been (and will be) outstanding hunting opportunities at SCI fund-raisers all over the US and I was hoping to get back to Africa for at least a 7 day plains game hunt?espite some lingering (and not well founded) doubts about hunting high fence/game farm properties.

    Before the dinner I perused the offered hunts and had my eye on one that looked particularly appealing. 9 days hunting for two hunter and two observers擁ncluding 4 trophy animals for each hunter謡ith Johnny Vivier Safaris.

    I was looking over the item description when I happened to bump into the then president of the local chapter宥erry Faust. He was making the rounds and mentioned he壇 met Johnny at Reno and what a great hunt it was. 哲icest one I致e seen in years?oing to go for a small fortune?o doubt?



    Sigh?br>
    Nevertheless, I joined forces with my long time hunting partner and we went all in for it. Little did I know, not only would I have the high bid but was in for an absolutely fantastic safari.

    Fast forward to August?br>
    Not quite yet though. We had yet to 礎reak the news to my hunting partner痴 wife. I was in the dog house for a while. Not seriously so. She痴 been to Africa and was thrilled to have a chance to return.

    I invited a couple I know遥es that makes 5傭ut we壇 work it out. Neither are hunters, neither have been to Africa. I told him遥ou値l thank me預nd 蘇ate me if you say yes. He said yes.

    As it turns out, only he could go-but in the end揺e痴 not only going back but his wife is insisting that she goes NEXT time. I told him so?br>
    Now, a flurry of activity溶eed to decide on the dates (had to be taken Aug-Nov 2010)傭ook the travel妖ecide on the animals I壇 like to take幼hoose a 礎attery? etc. It痴 a good excuse to kit up with some new gear too. I壇 also bid on (and won) a 5 day trip to Namibia and wanted to hunt mountain zebra so I sprung for a new pair of boots to augment my Russell PH痴.

    Oh, and then there was the new glass. Doug from Camera Land (NY) steered me toward a pair of PROMASTER Infinity Elite ELX 8x42 ED Binoculars. For the any amount of money-it's a very impressive set of glass. I was and am very happy with them.

    As for rifles?strong>So many rifles WILL work there. I致e got a wide range to choose from thankfully but one rifle stood out. I have a really beautiful 7x57 (and my friends let me call it a Rigby耀ounds cool!).

    Seriously擁t痴 a great classic and proven round. The rifle handles and feeds very well. So now the choice, one rifle or two? I grew up shooting right handed rifles but I don稚 HAVE to anymore. Nevertheless the idea of 壮omething going wrong with one rifle spurred me to bring a second.

    Why the .375 Ruger? Why not? I love how it handles, it痴 accurate though not 鼠ong legged beyond 300 yards. Neither are my shooting skills. Who knows洋aybe I壇 be seeing the eland of a lifetime and?ell, you get the picture. No regrets.

    Ammo: My buddy and I reload預nd I went back and forth not only on WHAT to take but what bullets I wanted to use. I ended up shooting factory ammo.

    It痴 probably sacrilege to say given the absolute devotion some people give to ballistics and bullet performance傭ut I decided that my time was better spent SHOOTING a decent load that fed in my rifle than to fuss over ス a grain of powder and 50 FPS. Don稚 get me wrong, I LIKE to reload and to find the sweet spot in rifles for a given bullet. But for this trip, given other demands on time and limited range opportunities I went 素actory?

    Just my opinion, but for 90% of us, there are some REALLY good and high performance factory loads out there. If there weren稚葉hey wouldn稚 be in business for long預nd frankly I wasn稚 going to be after nyati or mbogo曜ust antelope.

    Now I can fast forward to August 22nd.

    Because I知 a 奏hrifty fellow I had Debbie Gracy book the cheapest/best available itinerary that would get me from San Diego to Kimberley, RSA with a round-trip to Windhoek, NA along the way.

    Routing: SAN-DCA-JNB (via Dakar). Despite the 蘇orror stories I壇 heard葉he equipment (brand new Airbus A-340) and service were fine. Lucked out and got an exit row. Brutally long flight from DCA and there痴 no way around it. The stop in Dakar does involve the infamous bug-bomb spray treatment. You値l survive.

    Overnight in Johannesburg at City Lodge-Tambo airport (very convenient). Modern, clean, reasonably priced. It is walking distance from where you collect your luggage/rifles. If you have a quick turn-around I highly recommend it. Otherwise get out and stay with one of the guest houses that you can read about in other hunt reports. They will help get you in the 鄭frican mood?

    Bruce (from Gracy Travel) met us at the luggage pickup and I知 not kidding I cleared my rifles in 10 minutes. Worth the expense. After the long flight we were tired but not ready to pitch in for the night so we cleaned up and wandered back to find a pretty decent pub at the airport. That first beer is SO sweet?br>
    Up and at it the next day唯ruce met us again and got us over to the 租omestic side and all checked in for our flight to Kimberley.

    ***One note for 租o it yourself travelers. By using a travel agent, my ENTIRE ticket was booked under an international travel agreement between airlines. Doing so raises your allowable luggage limit SIGNIFICANTLY. If you did this on your own (booked individual flights) you don稚 have this allowance. If the trip is complex, let a travel agent handle it. You値l be glad you did.

    A short two hours later and we arrived in Kimberley at about 10:30 a.m. We were met by our PH, Strauss Jordaan. I recognized him from a hunting video that a former client (and now acquaintance) had made. Strauss is (like many African PH痴) someone who people just like right away. Cheerful, polite, organized, knowledgeable擁n a word, professional.



    We loaded up our kit and set off for camp. It痴 about 45 clicks south of the city of Kimberley most of which is along one of the few main 奏ar roads in that part of the North Cape.

    All the camp staff turned out to greet us and we proceeded to unload our gear and get into our quarters. You値l find all the modern amenities--hot and cold running water, flush toilets, ceiling fans and air conditioners -direct telephone dialing and internet access is available. Laundry is done daily. This is 壮tandard for most outfitters in RSA these days I suppose傭ut when you are there you get a sense that you are REALLY being catered to and looked after.

    I don稚 have much to compare this to, but it was a good indication of why Vivier Safari痴 has the motto: 展hen you致e tried the rest, come and hunt with the best?





    In my limited experience with other outfitters, the day of arrival is a 僧eet and greet着get settled in and get the rifles zeroed in?eriod.

    We had a light lunch and Strauss gently 蘇erded us down to their range. Well set up and convenient. I sighted my 375 for a 2 high at 100 yards and my 7x57 for an inch. I wanted to be ready for smaller antelope at closer ranges and something bigger (eland, etc.) as well. I didn稚 have an eland at the top of my list傭ut there痴 always the 羨frican surprise?





    Without a doubt my 壮urprise on this trip was the very long ranges at which I ended up taking the majority of my trophies. I知 a decent shot傭ut I don稚 practice much outside of 200 yards. Not much opportunity to do it預nd my experience has been if I have to shoot farther悠 need to get closer or pass on the shot.

    In any case, instead of heading back for an early 奏ea or a very early sundowner, Strauss asked if we壇 like to go out and 壮ee what痴 on out in the hunting areas. Heck yeah?br>
    So, now there is a decision point in how I frame the rest of the report. Do a step by step, blow by blow account of the hunt熔r just let the pictures talk? I値l do more of the latter and throw in a few highlights along the way.

    My hunting partner has been to Africa at least 5 times previously and so was out for a smaller 礎ag and more than willing to let me have the first opportunity. I have a nice impala (prototypical first African animal) already but there are some very nice trophies in the North Cape and it was a good way to break the ice. I suppose if I was a PH I壇 want to see how a hunter handles him/herself on a fairly common species too.

    As it happens I took what I think is a really nice impala after a relatively short stalk. We spotted a small herd while driving and there was a good looking ram in the group. The great thing about having an experienced PH is that they know the behavior of the animals, the lay of the land and the environment. They got spooked and bolted up and over a small rise傭ut we trekked around and came up on a crawl to where he壇 guessed they壇 be. Sure enough葉he ram was browsing about 120 yards away. First test of the 7x57. I crawled up and set up in a prone position. Hold and squeeze. No matter what the animal or how many times you致e hunted葉hat is the magic moment and my heart was beating pretty hard. Hit him just on the shoulder and he dropped in place.



    I supposed that we壇 load up and head to the skinning shed預nd we did. But it was only 4:00 or so and we had about 2 hours of hunting light remaining.

    Blue wildebeest? Why not?

    Before I go any farther I want to state adamantly that the game fences NEVER came in to play while I was hunting. EVER. They are part and parcel of the reality of managing game animals. Some must be segregated for propagation or continuity of species. I had visions of a 叢en hunt years ago when I first heard of game farms. This couldn稚 be farther from reality. The only time I was aware of the fencing was when crossing from one area into another. The property is HUGE, now about 150 square miles.

    In any case, later that afternoon we spotted a large group of blue wildebeest and it was 組ame on? What I learned quickly about hunting the high veldt in August擁t痴 dry and it痴 WINDY. In the nine days I hunted I would count only ONE as 祖alm? The rest of the time it was blowing between 10 and 20 mph預nd almost all day long.

    Because of the lack of dense cover in the area we hunted and the numerous sets of eyes擁t was tough to get within 300 yards. I also learned that despite MY intentions to stalk a wildebeest葉he numerous other game in the area, especially the springbok熔ften had something else in mind. Once one of them bolts葉hey all go. The wind made everything 創ervous and so it went for most of the hunt.

    Thankfully, my hunting partner (also left handed) decided to bring his Echols prepared model 70 chambered in .300 WM. As it happens I took 4 of my animals with that rifle. I have no doubt that I would have eventually gotten opportunities with my selected battery傭ut given the choice I grabbed the 300 when wind/range we likely to be a big factor in the hunt.

    I ended up taking the blue wildebeest at the end of day one羊ight before sunset. It was a great way to finish my first day in the field at Wag 創 Bietjie.



    (CONTINUED IN PART II)...

    Well...this is where it actually finished.



    Day 2:

    It痴 COLD! I知 glad I packed my parka, long underwear, hat and gloves. I looked online and it was 29 degrees that previous night. We mustered at about 7:00 for breakfast (excellent every day) and a cup or two of coffee and off we went.


    (Dr.Bill--paparazzi)

    As it happened--I witnessed one of the most amazing hunts I致e ever seen擁ncluding all the hunting TV shows, videos, etc. This particular morning we set out to get Jeff (my hunting partner) a black wildebeest.

    I had no idea of how incredibly wary these animals are. In this region there is very little dense cover and these guys like to graze in these enormous open areas of low grass and small clumps of bushes. Enormous as in 5 miles across--without a chance of being unseen.

    Again, the skill and local knowledge of the PH came in to play. We drove to a place where there was a good chance we would at least spot a herd or two預nd eventually we did. They saw us as well. Now I know why they call them the clowns of the bush. I could watch them for hours. (later I would傭ut for another reason)?br>
    We were about 2 miles from them and Strauss had our driver, Richard, stop the truck near a small (6 feet across) group of thorn bushes. His plan? He and Jeff would get off and have us drive away. We were adjacent to the herd and hoped they'd get twitchy and run toward where he and Jeff were brushed up. From there the idea was that the herd may (just may) stop somewhere close enough that they could stalk/crawl within 300 yards and assess the opportunity.





    Not only did they (eventually) do that but they ran and stopped within about 30 yards of where they sat.





    We never got closer than ス mile but I watched the entire thing through my binoculars. Later, Jeff said he could hear them THUNDERING toward them預nd they essentially hooked around their hiding spot and stopped. His heart was in his throat. Strauss sorted one fine bull out and one trigger squeeze later he had a magnificent trophy. From the time we stopped to drop them off to hearing the report of the rifle: 15 minutes洋ax.



    As a side note, Jeff was shooting 168G Berger VLD Factory HSM Golds. This is how we found the bullet: Off-side shoulder and protruding with the base first.



    The remainder of the hunt can be highlighted with a few anecdotes and lasting impressions.

    Since I知 writing about the black wildebeest, I壇 like to share that it was the TOUGHEST single animal that I encountered in South Africa. Not that it痴 physically tough謡hich it certainly is傭ut that it challenged me the most. I didn稚 have the good fortune of having one 奏ied to a tree as I now claim Jeff痴 was.

    The day I went out for a black wildebeest it was windy and cold. After chasing a pretty large herd on foot for almost two hours I finally got up on a small 遡opi (hill) and spotted them where they壇 settled預s much as they ever really settle in. There were at least 30 in the group預nd spread out from about 250 to 400 yards away. Why don稚 they just stop at 100 yards and broadside like I always imagine?

    Anyway悠 can稚 sort a 喪eally good bull from an average one and was lucky to recognize a cow at first. Again, luckily I壇 taken the 300 with me on this stalk because it was blustery. I知 guessing a steady 12 knots and gusting to 20. I had good glass and we finally sorted out the one I wanted to take. After about what seemed like an hour (maybe 10 minutes) I was holding and squeezing. Bang!

    You know (if you致e hunted for a while) how you can hear that bullet SLAP when it hits hard? This was more like a 壮mush? He jumped up but so did 29+ others. When I pulled off the glass to look, reload and re-acquire I had no idea where to look. Off then went to our right and not one of them looked 壮ick? Damn?br>
    We kept the glass on them until they were out of sight and then walked down to where he壇 been. Looking for blood spoor預nd found a trace. Paced it off at just under 300 yards. I make no excuses. It was not a good shot. I will say though悠 always (always) replay my shot in my mind and try to recall my exact sight picture, etc. Probably low用robably in front of the shoulder.

    What I also learned is that consciously or unconsciously悠 still use 壮tadiametric ranging. I learned how to do it when I was flying fighters in the Navy. You can do a good job of estimating range if you know the size of your target預nd have an aiming reference. My problem was that I was imagining the 層hite tailed gnu to be a lot bigger than it actually is.

    I also learned (after the fact) that Jeff zeroed his rifle to be dead on at 100 yards. It痴 MY fault for not knowing how the rifle was set up. In any case謡e ended up calling the truck in to meet us. Strauss works with a tracker, Cephas, and he put him on the spoor and gave him a radio. We took off in the direction we last saw the herd. About 20 minutes later we spotted 疎 herd. Was it the same one? Who knows傭ut this is where I learned how beautiful these animals truly are. That痴 the positive side of it. The downside is that no one (we had 4 sets of glass on them) was seeing a wounded animal.

    If you致e ever seen them in the bush葉hey ALL look like they池e wounded預t least now and then. Bucking, twisting, tripping and turning?br>
    Finally, after repeating the same exercise for another 2 hours on numerous groups, we spotted one lone bull about 800 yards from any herd. He looked 壮ick? My spirits lifted!

    As we drove up within about ス mile熔ff he went?br>
    This old guy was running up a draw and we were on a road, paralleling his track about 200 to 400 yards away. It was straight out of Doctari. We had to slow for the small dams built on the roads for erosion control傭ut that old bull was flying. He eventually crossed in front of us about 500 yards and up/over into the hills and brush.

    Strauss and I left the rest of the hunting party in the truck and set off after him. After about 40 minutes of cat and mouse he stopped near a small copse of thorns trees and bushes below us and about 250 yards away.

    It was still impossible to see if he was THE one I壇 wounded-but we thought it was. After some discussion悠 decided that I was going to take him in any case預nd if he壇 not been wounded悠壇 just 礎ought two animals. I was pretty confident that the one I had hit wasn稚 mortally or even seriously wounded. Cephas had tracked in the direction we壇 picked this guy up耀o I decided to take him.

    Because he might have been wounded I treated the shot as if he was. I wanted to anchor him at the least葉hough the brush was a factor揺e was virtually standing in it. I got a steady rest and aimed for the front third?br>
    He dropped at the shot傭ut I took a follow up at about half the distance. By the time we got to him擁t couldn稚 have been more than a minute揺e was as stiff as a fireplace poker. A dramatic example of the effects of adrenaline. You cannot imagine how hard this proud animal had run.



    ?nd as it happens, he WAS the right one. I壇 grazed him across the front of his left leg. Like I said擁t was not a good shot. The good news is that my sight picture had been accurately recalled. Forward and low. The amount of 鼠ow was unexpected and that痴 when I sorted out the actual zero on the rifle. Lesson learned?nd I accept the luck.

    Reflecting on this though, I realize that the 鼠uck was really due to having an extremely competent and capable PH. Strauss made a reasonable conclusion based on what we壇 seen and without his persistence and positive attitude I doubt I壇 have had success that day.

    Other hunting notes or highlights?

    The common blesbok was without a doubt the wariest animal that I hunted on this safari. I spent the entire last day預bout 10 hours熔n repeated approaches, blown stalks, chasing and finally calling it quits when the sun had gone down. We were literally walking out of the area, not really practicing good field craft (walking line abreast, etc.) when Strauss froze. A really nice ram was poking through the thorns bushes about 300 yards away..and he saw us. I was sure it was just another missed chance傭ut we gave him about a minute and started walking toward where we壇 seen him. Within about 10 minutes and in rapidly fading light I had my last預nd more memorable of my trophies on my hunt with Johnny Vivier Safaris.



    (CONTINUED IN PART III)...

    Let me finish with a few lessons learned and related highlights.

    * The entire experience was enhanced by having Strauss as a PH as our 祖amp counselor and the having the cheerful and attentive staff looking after us. A PH can make or break a hunt. Strauss now has four lifelong fans and friends in us.

    * One day in the field, we were met by a camp vehicle at lunch time. We were treated to a delightful 素ield lunch in the fine tradition of old school safari camps that I壇 read about for years. It was a magical and unforgettable experience.



    * On the second day in camp悠 realized that I壇 lost my prescription sunglasses. I had them on the first day of hunting and recall having them after taking my blue wildebeest. I mentioned my dilemma to Strauss and so, after breakfast, we drove out to the spot I壇 taken it. Sure enough, we found them. Broken and bent frames but glass was intact. I supposed that I壇 get them fixed on our planned 租ay off about 6 days hence. I壇 have to make do with borrowed non-prescription sunglasses. Without prompting, Strauss had them sent to an optics shop in Kimberley that same day預nd they were repaired and returned謡ithout charge. That痴 about a 50 mile round trip.

    * One of our party had a need for a prescription. Another of our party is a medical doctor. Strauss put him in touch with the pharmacy in Kimberley and they sorted out what they壇 need and how to order it. Again, Strauss sent someone into Kimberley and had the Rx filled that same day.

    * There was a huge bouquet of fresh flowers delivered to the room of my hunting partner and his wife after we arrived. She could not stop talking about how much that meant to her.

    * Johnny痴 partner Wiaan has family who live nearby and he has a large beautiful home on the property. They had a family reunion/baby shower for one of the relatives and a HUGE barbeque, etc. We were invited to join in as if we were a part of the family. We felt as if we were.

    * There was never a moment in which any of us felt as if we weren稚 the focus of the attention of the camp and staff. The kitchen staff accommodated us in every way預nd THEY now have a new skill and recipe. Microwave popcorn with Zatarain痴 seasoning. It痴 addicting!

    * Highly recommend to take a day to be a tourist in and around Kimberley. Visit some of the historical battle sites from the Boer War and make sure to visit the DeBeers 釘ig Hole diamond mine museum and associated attractions.

    * Johnny and Wiaan built a large modern taxidermy studio on their property. From what I gather it痴 been built within the last year or so. It is run by a highly experienced taxidermist and has a large staff. The work is really impressive. They were working on at least 20 mounts while we were there. It痴 nice to have the option of having work done there as there is 100% accountability for the outcome of the trophies. I know there is some controversy about tanning methods, etc. but after talking with a well known taxidermist here in San Diego悠 have confidence that there is some good work coming out of RSA.

    Time to wrap this up. There are great stories to go along with all these trophies, but I'll just let the pictures speak for these few.











    A few misc. photos. that help me capture the memories of the trip:








    BOTTOM LINE:


    If you have ever entertained a trip to Africa but were unsure of the challenge of the hunt, the level of service or if your 壮ignificant other would be comfortable用ut all your doubts aside.


    Johnny Vivier Safari痴 has indeed put all the right pieces together to create a top notch, challenging and yet very comfortable safari experience. Whether you池e a novice or a highly experienced hunter I can heartily recommend a hunt with Vivier. Try the rest?hen hunt with the best?ohnny Vivier Safaris.




    展hen you see the Southern Cross for the first time
    you understand now why you came this way?




    p.s. I get no consideration or benefit whatsoever from writing or posting this report. The opinions and impressions are mine and mine alone. I like to see good folks who have good products and services succeed.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,191

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunting report! Glad you had a good Time! The one sable in the picture...looks very nice!

  3. #3
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Great Hunting report and very good pictures. Thanks Bob

  4. #4
    ndbwhnter's Avatar
    ndbwhnter is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    428

    Member of NRA, SCI

    Hunted USA, South Africa

    ndbwhnter has no Articles
    View ndbwhnter's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the story Jambo, it was a wonderful read. You took some fine trophies too.

    nd

  5. #5
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,690

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks Jambo for sharing the moments of your time in Africa as well as your wonderful pictures!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: Day 1 Wintershoek Johnny Vivier Safaris
    By dvdegeorge in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 08:49 AM
  2. Hunting South Africa with Wintershoek Johnny Vivier Safaris
    By Wintershoek Safaris in forum Hunting Video Clips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 10:31 PM
  3. Hunting in South Africa with Wintershoek Johnny Vivier Safaris
    By Wintershoek Safaris in forum Hunting Video Clips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 10:46 AM
  4. Johnny Vivier from South Africa
    By Wintershoek Safaris in forum Introductions & Greets
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2011, 07:25 AM
  5. Limpopo Big Game Safaris offers plains game hunting at a reduced price South Africa
    By lbgsafaris in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 12:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •