Results 1 to 11 of 11

ZIMBABWE: Just returned to the U.S. from Zimbabwe

This is a discussion on ZIMBABWE: Just returned to the U.S. from Zimbabwe within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; I just returned home after my first safari. I hunted Zimbabwe, in the Makuti area in the northwest part of ...

  1. #1
    Wapiti57 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Member of SCI, NRA, PF, RMEF, DU

    Hunted USA, Canada, Zimbabwe

    Wapiti57 has no Articles
    Wapiti57 has no Photos

    Smile ZIMBABWE: Just returned to the U.S. from Zimbabwe

    I just returned home after my first safari. I hunted Zimbabwe, in the Makuti area in the northwest part of the country (north and east of Lake Kariba and north and east of the town of Kariba - basically between the towns Kariba and Makuti). This safari was set up by Frank Ross at Cabela's Outdoor Adventures. I hunted with The African Safari Company and PH Dirk du Plooy.

    I don't know where to start other than to say this was the most incredible adventure of my life. Despite the issues of Zim's economy, etc., my experience was fantastic. We had no problems with travel at all. We flew South African Air (my new favorite airlines) from the U.S. to Joburg, then onto Harare, Zimbabwe. Our luggage was checked all the way through to Harare. Our PH met us in Harare and we drove the four hours to camp. We got to see a lot of the country on this drive but we had no problem at tollway stops or roadblocks. Also there were no issues at all upon arrival - I paid for my tourist visa, handed in my firearm paperwork and we were off and rolling. No problems at all.

    The camp was awesome, and despite this area of Zimbabwe being a primarily dangerous game area (known for buffalo, elephants and cats) we managed to see good numbers (not herds, mostly individual animals) of plains game species and in addition to a true dugga boy, I took a zebra, eland, warthog and sable. The warthog and eland were excellent animals, and the warthog sported a 14.25" long tusk on one side (13.25" on the other). My buffalo was old, probably 13. He has worn horn tips and his boss is worn down and was actually starting to separate from sagging. He's a gray-faced old dugga boy. I passed better scoring bulls, but none older. It's exactly what I wanted for my first cape buffalo.

    I can't imagine a better place to hunt buffalo. This is all spot and stalk hunting and reminded me of hunting the western U.S. for mule deer or elk. We did not hunt any buffalo herds but chose to hunt only lone or groups of dugga boys and we were in buffalo all day, every day. It was awesome. Elephants are everywhere and the country is amazing. Lots of small antelope species as well but we didn't take any as we were trying to capture all the hunts on video.

    I can't sing the praises of Dirk du Plooy enough. A native of Zim, he knows how to run a camp and he knows how to deal with any and every situation. His trackers are incredible and the tracking of my eland was the most amazing thing I've ever witnessed. Several hours and more than three miles of tracking in the long grass where it hadn't burned. There was nothing to track - no tracks, paths, etc. I have no idea what the trackers were seeing. Even my PH said it was probably the best tracking job he'd ever witnessed. I kept thinking we'd give up and move on when the trackers would whistle us to move again. I've hunted since I can remember and consider myself a good tracker and hunter, but I've never seen anything like this and they led me to within spitting distance of a grand old eland bull.

    I understand now why people say you should never go to Africa and hunt, because once will never be enough. It's only been a few days since I got home, and I can't stop thinking about going back. I'll try to attach some photos if I can figure out how to do that.

  2. #2
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,756

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Wapiti57, Glad to hear that you had an amazing hunt in Zimbabwe. Look forward to seeing some pictures, if you need some help with this here is a link to a post I did about How To Post Photos In The Forum. If you need further assistance just ask.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  3. #3
    TOM's Avatar
    TOM
    TOM is offline AH Elite
    Joined
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,595

    Member of SCI,DSC, QDMA, QU

    Hunted Africa...are there other continents to hunt?

    Default

    Sounds like an awesome trip! I'd love to see some pictures.
    Tom

  4. #4
    Wapiti57 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Member of SCI, NRA, PF, RMEF, DU

    Hunted USA, Canada, Zimbabwe

    Wapiti57 has no Articles
    Wapiti57 has no Photos

    Default Photos from Zim safari

    OK, I'm going to try and upload some low-res images from the safari. Note that the sable photo is courtesy of John Hafner, professional outdoor photographer. If this works I will include photos of my cape buffalo, Livingstone eland, sable, zebra and warthog. The zebra was an old lone stallion and has several places on his hide where he's been attacked by lions. The scars just add some amazing character.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    safari hunter's Avatar
    safari hunter is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    143

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Namibia

    safari hunter has no Articles
    View safari hunter's Photos

    Default

    This is awesome, congrats!

  6. #6
    browningbbr's Avatar
    browningbbr is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    330

    Member of SCI Northeast Wisconsin Chapter, NRA, Local Sportsmen's Club

    Hunted South Africa

    browningbbr has no Articles
    View browningbbr's Photos

    Default

    Nice eland. Congratulations!

    - browningbbr

  7. #7
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,193

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunting report! That is one heck of an eland...he's huge!!!

  8. #8
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,756

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thanks for the pictures, you took great trophies. Looks like you had a very successful hunt.

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  9. #9
    Drenalin33's Avatar
    Drenalin33 is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    33

    Member of SCI, NRA, DU, Texas Bowhunter.

    Hunted USA, Canada, Mexico, and South Africa

    Drenalin33 has no Articles
    View Drenalin33's Photos

    Default

    Sounds and looks like you had a fantastic hunt. Congrats!

  10. #10
    Thunder head's Avatar
    Thunder head is offline AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    361

    Member of NWTF, NRA

    Default

    Nice animals,
    That eland is awesome.
    Just went on my first safari in july. Already planned out my second safari as far as when and what species, just have to decide where.
    I have walked in the tracks of the elephant, heard the lion roar and met the buffalo on his terms. I shall never be the same.

  11. #11
    Wapiti57 is offline New Member
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7

    Member of SCI, NRA, PF, RMEF, DU

    Hunted USA, Canada, Zimbabwe

    Wapiti57 has no Articles
    Wapiti57 has no Photos

    Default

    My bad guys - in my original post that should read Frank Cole of Cabela's Outdoor Adventures, not Frank Ross. Sorry

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •