Results 1 to 17 of 17

SOUTH AFRICA: BOS EN DAL- My first Safari, and a Great PH/Outfitter Experience

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: BOS EN DAL- My first Safari, and a Great PH/Outfitter Experience within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; Growing up in the Midwest, I've been White-Tail and Pheasant hunting plenty of times. But as a kid I had ...

  1. #1
    bls72bmw is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    15
    bls72bmw has no Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: BOS EN DAL- My first Safari, and a Great PH/Outfitter Experience

    Growing up in the Midwest, I've been White-Tail and Pheasant hunting plenty of times. But as a kid I had always loved reading the adventures of the true African Gents- Capstick, Hemingway, Roosevelt, the list goes on. However, I always realized these guys were pros (and wealthy) and real African Hunting was never going to be for me.
    Well, fast forward 30 years and one day while reading "Field and Stream" the article was titled: African Plains Game Safari- Less Cost Than You Think!". From that point it was my new desire that I could realistically achieve!
    Did a lot of searching on the forums and came across a small outfit in RSA, where the gentleman who owns the land, is the outfitter and is the PH all himself- Gerrit Jv Vuuren. I read a couple reviews on Africa Hunting about two folks that had hunted with him, but there was not a lot of info. out there. After contacting the two gents who had hunted with Gerrit, and Gerrit himself, I was sold. Bos En Dal is new in marketing to overseas hunters- he doesn't go to conventions or shows just yet, but is slowly (smartly) growing the business. Long story short, I booked my hunt and then had an anxious wait!
    Fast-forward to last week-I land at JoBurg and as I walk out of customs there is a big tall guy with huge grin and a Bos En Dal sign! One thing I liked in the interim is that as a new comer I know I pestered Gerrit with endless questions (reading one too many Boddington books will do that...and he answered all my questions in a timely manner and was very in depth in his answers. Now that I've actually been on Safari, I look back now and think some of my questions were just plain odd!)
    I only booked a 5 day hunt and added an extra day on to allow me time to adjust. But one thing that my PH did was always allow me to hunt- we started off on the first day just taking a stroll, walk and stalk, just to stretch my legs really is what I was thinking. Well, just as I get going we step right into a herd of impala about 200 yards off, Gerrit says "I see two nice large males in there, let's see if we can get in closer"...... wind just shifted, they turned a bit, we stalked around to the side, and just as we go to approach from a different angle as we turn our heads the other way- TWO Wildebeest! And at this point I think to myself "WOW! I'm really doing it!!!!!"....we take a quick look and the Wildebeest are young- but how neat it is to have the different game all around. So as we try to out maneuver our impala the wind shifts and they sprint off. Just as I think we're done for the night, as it is getting late, our tracker turns and silently indicates, with a whispy outstretched hand- 2 nice warthogs about 50 meters off to our left on the back side of a tiny creek bed. STICKS UP! My rifle rests up in the sticks and we both watch as they disappear as they see us too. As my disappointment mounts, one more, a big old fellow, runs into the picture and turns to faces- almost as a challenge. Gerrit leans over and whispers in my ear, with his Africaans-laden English, "that's a nice one, take him if you have the shot". Don't need to tell me twice, safety off- Boom! First trophy of my trip!
    11 1/2" Warthog, Gold Medal on the PHASA scale!
    I can't say that every day was as dramatic as that- but I can say that every trophy I took WAS as dramatic as that! I don't know what they're "putting in the water" over there, but my Impala was 25" and my Blue Wildebeest was 27.5"- both PHASA Gold Medal Scores-
    Not being a great writer, I wish I had a better way with words to describe the days we spent together. I really enjoyed my time with my PH, getting to meet his beautiful family and friends, and the time we spent together. We all know these guys have a job to do, and that job is to make the client happy. But my impression were that Gerrit was a true hunter- this was not his job just to pay the bills, but he really enjoyed himself being out in the bush and having fun. I caught him smiling to himself a lot- you could tell he enjoyed his work and was putting his heart into it.
    Other impressions of the hunt were very positive. We spent a day pigeon/dove shooting as well as the traditional "guniea fowl off the bakke" shoot. Lots of fun not to be missed. In fact the pigeon shooting is something I had never done before and was one of the highlights of the trip. I never got the feeling I was in a corporate "churn and burn" operation. There was no pressure to take extra game (I opted with his 5 day starter package that is priced quite reasonable and was within my budget). The food every night was amazing- the guest house was nice and clean, ample beverages and a tradition Braai every night, and really just a ton of all around fun.
    There were lots of little extras in this package that when added up made a big difference to me. Transfer to/from JoBurg was included, we stopped for lunch a couple days at nice restaurants, I was taken to the Taxidermist and shown the entire operation on the taxidermists day off, billtong all around- etc. I know these things are all part of the operation, but what I'm trying to say is I never felt that my outfitter was trying to pinch a penny or two here or there. Even though I came on a small beginner package I was never treated as a small client. I think that is something that you get with a family type operation as this. All heart- and when the business does well they do well- they realize that and just have a good time with their work. My PH supervised each trophy taken, the skinning and the salting. The Zebra was to be made into a rug that we discussed beforehand so he personally supervised the skinning and caping to ensure I was happy with exactly what I wanted- nice touches that made me smile. Another nice touch; now that I'm home he is following up with me on each item we discussed- my PHASA medals, importation paperwork completion, and is monitoring the email chain between myself and the taxidermist to ensure everything is done properly. It's the little things that really make a difference. As a first timer it takes my mind off being pre-occupied with how the trophies are being handled and finalized.
    I've never been on an African hunting trip before- but I definitely will again. The cost of hunting trophies in Africa v. the US is very telling. An African Safari is definitely a do-able trip for most folks.
    Anyone with questions about the operation or thinking about this firm please feel free to PM me and I'll give you my number if you'd like to chat. I would (and already have) recommend Bos En Dal to my friends looking for a great experience in an African hunt.

    Impala14wGVJ.jpg

    Sticks1.jpg

    Wildebeest15.jpg

    Zebra6.jpg

  2. #2
    RogerHeintzman is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    294

    Member of SCI (Sioux Falls, SD) RMEF, NWTF, NRA, NTA, BCSC, SDTA, NDTA, P&Y,

    Hunted Canada (Ontario,British Columbia,Manitoba), USA (Colorado,Montana,Wyoming,Texas,South Dakota), Africa(Limpopo,NW Province, East Cape, Kwazulu Natal,) Namibia

    Default

    bls72bmw,

    Great trophies taken. I can see the smile on your face.

    One trip is not enough to Africa.

    Thanks for the report.

    "A dream can be relived, again and again in Africa."
    Roger Heintzman
    Roger's Taxidermy - South Dakota
    Info@RogersTaxidermy.com
    www.RogersTaxidermy.com

  3. #3
    billc's Avatar
    billc is offline SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    486

    Hunted united states canada mexico south africa

    Default

    Looks like you had a fun 5 days.Some great trophys taken with a good company cant bet that.just think when you get back and your hunt is longer all the fun you will have.great report.

  4. #4
    bluey's Avatar
    bluey is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,019

    Member of ssaa, aba ,bairnsdale field archers

    Hunted australia south africa (limpopo) canada (b.c)

    Default

    bls72bmw
    nice write up .
    sounds like your very happy with your choice on the outfitter , and the animals you were fortunate to take are fantastic
    thanks for sharing your memories with us
    so when are you heading back over to gods country???
    the worst days hunting ,still shits all over the best day at work

  5. #5
    HuntingGold is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    98

    Member of Mule Deer Foundation

    Hunted South Africa, United States (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and Wyoming)

    Default

    Really cool experience.... thanks much for taking the time to share your trip!

  6. #6
    gillettehunter is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    468

    Hunted Namibia, Kyrgyzstan South Africa

    Default

    Looks like you had a great first safari. Nice looking animals. Bet you'll go back. Bruce

  7. #7
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,316

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    Default

    Thanks for sharing your hunt with us.

    It's always nice to read a report from someone who is genuinely sharing an appreciation of their experience.
    Those small details do matter and it shows.

    Congratulations.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  8. #8
    TiborV is offline AH Member
    Joined
    May 2013
    Posts
    22

    Member of SCI, NRA

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Canada, Hungary, Burkina Faso

    Default

    Great report and photos. Having that first safari go well is a huge factor in the decision whether to return to Africa.... and it certainly looks like you will be back!

  9. #9
    accipiter is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    44

    Hunted USA

    accipiter has no Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the detailed report. I am glad you had an amazing experience.

  10. #10
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,218

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Default

    Congrats for the good time and very nice trophies, and thanks for sharing !

  11. #11
    Royal27's Avatar
    Royal27 is online now BRONZE SUPPORTER
    Joined
    May 2012
    Posts
    378

    Member of DSC, NRA

    Hunted USA - TX, CO, GA, Zim (soon), SA (after Zim!)

    Default

    You're wrong about your writing. Good writing describes a seen and how the author feels and that is exactly what you did very well. Your excitement was obvious.

    Thanks for the great reprt!

  12. #12
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,778

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thank you for posting your hunt report and sharing your trophies and journey in Africa with us!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  13. #13
    Buff-Buster's Avatar
    Buff-Buster is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1,035

    Member of Houston Safari Club, Gulf Coast SCI, SCI International. Rowland Ward, NRA, RMEF, Nort American Hunting Club - Life Member, Texas Trophy Hunters

    Hunted Mozambique, South Africa, (Kwa-Zulu Natal & East Cape), Zimbabwe (Charisa & West Nicholson), U.S.(Texas, New Mexico, LA, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Wyoming & Montana), Canada (Alberta) & Argentina (Cordoba)

    Default

    Good hunt report. The excitement comes across in the way you write. Great trophies too!........Your hooked now, it won't be your last trip!
    " Once You Leave Africa.....She Never Leaves You"

  14. #14
    Bos en Dal Safaris's Avatar
    Bos en Dal Safaris is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    356

    Member of PHASA, SA Hunter & Conservation

    Hunted South Africa, Botswana

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bls72bmw View Post
    Growing up in the Midwest, I've been White-Tail and Pheasant hunting plenty of times. But as a kid I had always loved reading the adventures of the true African Gents- Capstick, Hemingway, Roosevelt, the list goes on. However, I always realized these guys were pros (and wealthy) and real African Hunting was never going to be for me.
    Well, fast forward 30 years and one day while reading "Field and Stream" the article was titled: African Plains Game Safari- Less Cost Than You Think!". From that point it was my new desire that I could realistically achieve!
    Did a lot of searching on the forums and came across a small outfit in RSA, where the gentleman who owns the land, is the outfitter and is the PH all himself- Gerrit Jv Vuuren. I read a couple reviews on Africa Hunting about two folks that had hunted with him, but there was not a lot of info. out there. After contacting the two gents who had hunted with Gerrit, and Gerrit himself, I was sold. Bos En Dal is new in marketing to overseas hunters- he doesn't go to conventions or shows just yet, but is slowly (smartly) growing the business. Long story short, I booked my hunt and then had an anxious wait!
    Fast-forward to last week-I land at JoBurg and as I walk out of customs there is a big tall guy with huge grin and a Bos En Dal sign! One thing I liked in the interim is that as a new comer I know I pestered Gerrit with endless questions (reading one too many Boddington books will do that...and he answered all my questions in a timely manner and was very in depth in his answers. Now that I've actually been on Safari, I look back now and think some of my questions were just plain odd!)
    I only booked a 5 day hunt and added an extra day on to allow me time to adjust. But one thing that my PH did was always allow me to hunt- we started off on the first day just taking a stroll, walk and stalk, just to stretch my legs really is what I was thinking. Well, just as I get going we step right into a herd of impala about 200 yards off, Gerrit says "I see two nice large males in there, let's see if we can get in closer"...... wind just shifted, they turned a bit, we stalked around to the side, and just as we go to approach from a different angle as we turn our heads the other way- TWO Wildebeest! And at this point I think to myself "WOW! I'm really doing it!!!!!"....we take a quick look and the Wildebeest are young- but how neat it is to have the different game all around. So as we try to out maneuver our impala the wind shifts and they sprint off. Just as I think we're done for the night, as it is getting late, our tracker turns and silently indicates, with a whispy outstretched hand- 2 nice warthogs about 50 meters off to our left on the back side of a tiny creek bed. STICKS UP! My rifle rests up in the sticks and we both watch as they disappear as they see us too. As my disappointment mounts, one more, a big old fellow, runs into the picture and turns to faces- almost as a challenge. Gerrit leans over and whispers in my ear, with his Africaans-laden English, "that's a nice one, take him if you have the shot". Don't need to tell me twice, safety off- Boom! First trophy of my trip!
    11 1/2" Warthog, Gold Medal on the PHASA scale!
    I can't say that every day was as dramatic as that- but I can say that every trophy I took WAS as dramatic as that! I don't know what they're "putting in the water" over there, but my Impala was 25" and my Blue Wildebeest was 27.5"- both PHASA Gold Medal Scores-
    Not being a great writer, I wish I had a better way with words to describe the days we spent together. I really enjoyed my time with my PH, getting to meet his beautiful family and friends, and the time we spent together. We all know these guys have a job to do, and that job is to make the client happy. But my impression were that Gerrit was a true hunter- this was not his job just to pay the bills, but he really enjoyed himself being out in the bush and having fun. I caught him smiling to himself a lot- you could tell he enjoyed his work and was putting his heart into it.
    Other impressions of the hunt were very positive. We spent a day pigeon/dove shooting as well as the traditional "guniea fowl off the bakke" shoot. Lots of fun not to be missed. In fact the pigeon shooting is something I had never done before and was one of the highlights of the trip. I never got the feeling I was in a corporate "churn and burn" operation. There was no pressure to take extra game (I opted with his 5 day starter package that is priced quite reasonable and was within my budget). The food every night was amazing- the guest house was nice and clean, ample beverages and a tradition Braai every night, and really just a ton of all around fun.
    There were lots of little extras in this package that when added up made a big difference to me. Transfer to/from JoBurg was included, we stopped for lunch a couple days at nice restaurants, I was taken to the Taxidermist and shown the entire operation on the taxidermists day off, billtong all around- etc. I know these things are all part of the operation, but what I'm trying to say is I never felt that my outfitter was trying to pinch a penny or two here or there. Even though I came on a small beginner package I was never treated as a small client. I think that is something that you get with a family type operation as this. All heart- and when the business does well they do well- they realize that and just have a good time with their work. My PH supervised each trophy taken, the skinning and the salting. The Zebra was to be made into a rug that we discussed beforehand so he personally supervised the skinning and caping to ensure I was happy with exactly what I wanted- nice touches that made me smile. Another nice touch; now that I'm home he is following up with me on each item we discussed- my PHASA medals, importation paperwork completion, and is monitoring the email chain between myself and the taxidermist to ensure everything is done properly. It's the little things that really make a difference. As a first timer it takes my mind off being pre-occupied with how the trophies are being handled and finalized.
    I've never been on an African hunting trip before- but I definitely will again. The cost of hunting trophies in Africa v. the US is very telling. An African Safari is definitely a do-able trip for most folks.
    Anyone with questions about the operation or thinking about this firm please feel free to PM me and I'll give you my number if you'd like to chat. I would (and already have) recommend Bos En Dal to my friends looking for a great experience in an African hunt.

    Impala14wGVJ.jpg

    Sticks1.jpg

    Wildebeest15.jpg

    Zebra6.jpg
    Thanks for the kind words my friend. We did had a blast!!! See you again in maybe a year or two.

    Best Regards
    Gerrit Jansen van Vuuren
    BOS EN DAL HUNTING SAFARIS - South Africa
    Website -www.bosendal.com
    Email- gerrit@ehw.co.za

  15. #15
    Wheels's Avatar
    Wheels is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    749

    Hunted Zimbabwe, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania

    Default

    Congratulations on your first African hunt. You have some nice trophies. Thanks for sharing your story and photos.

    As you mentioned. Gerrit is a great guy.
    "TIME"........God's way of keeping everything from happening all at once.

  16. #16
    Bos en Dal Safaris's Avatar
    Bos en Dal Safaris is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    356

    Member of PHASA, SA Hunter & Conservation

    Hunted South Africa, Botswana

    Default

    Thanks Bob

    Glad to see you made it home! Did the wife's present in your ammo box made it home in one peace?

    Best Regards
    Gerrit Jansen van Vuuren
    BOS EN DAL HUNTING SAFARIS - South Africa
    Website -www.bosendal.com
    Email- gerrit@ehw.co.za

  17. #17
    Wheels's Avatar
    Wheels is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    749

    Hunted Zimbabwe, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania

    Default

    Yes, it made it home.

    Customs didn't like your dirt. They washed my boots. There is something satisfying in watching a government employee wash your boots. I just wish I had stepped in more manure.

    All the best.
    "TIME"........God's way of keeping everything from happening all at once.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-08-2014, 03:12 PM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: SA 2012, Another Great Safari
    By garyleach in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 06:36 PM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Africa Sky Safaris, any experience?
    By frog stealer in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-31-2012, 01:12 AM
  4. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-19-2012, 06:58 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: Another GREAT South African Safari has concluded
    By Cliffy in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 08:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •