Results 1 to 15 of 15

SOUTH AFRICA: Koedoeberg Safari was fantastic

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Koedoeberg Safari was fantastic within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; My children and I had a fantastic time at Koedoeberg Safari while on our hunting adventure in June 2013. This ...

  1. #1
    USAmedic's Avatar
    USAmedic is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    27

    Member of NRA Lifetime, Buck Master Lifetime, Rocky Mtn Elk Lifetime

    Hunted RSA

    USAmedic has no Articles
    View USAmedic's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Koedoeberg Safari was fantastic

    My children and I had a fantastic time at Koedoeberg Safari while on our hunting adventure in June 2013. This was the first African trip for any of us and we were a little nervous prior to departing the USA. The flights were long for our Alaska group (two couples, myself) plus my daughter (San Diego) and son (Chicago). The PHs met us at the airport and helped guide us through customs, especially the firearms import process. Any nervousness had melted away by the end of the two hour drive and our greeting at the lodge. From the beginning it was a first class operation. The owners, Bill and Willem Faul, ensured our arrival was smooth and welcoming. The accommodations were exotic, comfortable, clean, and well maintained (5 stars) and food delicious. Each member of the staff was professional, polite, and had a clear understand of hospitality and service. The sun set, at the end of the first day, was extraordinary because it went the opposite direction from that in the Northern Hemisphere.

    The landscape in the Northwest Province reminded us of the high deserts of the American west. It consisted of arid mountains and valleys covered by scattered trees, brushy vegetation, and cacti all thick with thorns of all sizes. All Three PHs were experienced, knowledgeable, professional, friendly, flexible, and great cooks. The PHs and trackers displayed an amazing talent for seeing the invisible - absolutely mind blowing.

    We saw game from dawn to dusk every day. The hunting experience was similar to that of most Alaska residents multiple species in the field of view but much larger numbers of game. The group took three Kudu (50"-52") in one day alone. They were also perfectly matched to each pair of hunters. Team Zs hunting goals and techniques for the follow day were planned with our PH (Peet van der Westhuizen) every night usually sitting around the fire. Multiple nearby concessions were utilized to provide the opportunity for the highest quality trophies. I was fortunate enough to harvest 8 animals (no measurements yet): great Red Hartebeest bull, Impala ram, Blesbok bull, Springbok ram; 2 Blue Wildebeests one very nice and one with unusual horns that looked like a cross between a Black & Blue (1 hooked up & 1 hooked down); the smallest Kudu; and an extremely old Black Wildebeest bull. My son added 3 of his own while my daughter was an observer and cameraman. I believe that all adds up to an extremely successful hunt.

    In addition to hunting the group took time to visit Sun City Resort and Pilanesberg Game Reserve. Willem (owner) and Reinier (PH) assisted the group personally donate meat to an orphanage, a school, and aboriginal locals. The deep relationships developed during our trip will hopefully last a life time. Koedoeberg Safari is a great choice to take advantage of for your next/first Africa hunting trip. We are already planning our next safari. (Koedoeberg)

  2. #2
    spike.t's Avatar
    spike.t is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,571

    Member of sci int, basc

    Hunted zambia, tanzania, zimbabwe, hungary, france, england

    Default

    congrats on your first african hunt sounds like you all had a great time. you had better get some photos on here or there will be people jumping up and down in frustration not sure what you mean about the sun setting in the opposite direction to the northern hemisphere as west is west even in the south......

  3. #3
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,297

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike.t View Post
    ................. not sure what you mean about the sun setting in the opposite direction to the northern hemisphere as west is west even in the south......
    Left vs right when you face it, is my bet.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  4. #4
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,297

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Glad the nerves settled and you got into a good hunt.

    Congrats.

    Do share some pictures when you get a chance.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  5. #5
    Stretch's Avatar
    Stretch is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    621

    Hunted USA , Canada, Botswana

    Stretch has no Articles
    View Stretch's Photos

    Default

    Super experience. Congratulations. Would love to see some pictures.
    When I am not hunting, I am thinking about hunting....I think I'll go hunting.

  6. #6
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,764

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thank you for posting your hunt report!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  7. #7
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,600

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the Great hunting report, Congrats to you and your family on a great Safari Please share some pictures with us as well.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  8. #8
    Bruinmaster's Avatar
    Bruinmaster is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    46

    Member of SCI,NRA,RMEF

    Hunted United States, Canada, South Africa x2

    Bruinmaster has no Articles
    View Bruinmaster's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the great report. Been there myself and could not agree more. It is a fantastic place to hunt. Willem and his staff are outstanding!

  9. #9
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,216

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats for your great hunt !

    We need pics

  10. #10
    gillettehunter is online now AH Enthusiast
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    467

    Hunted Namibia, Kyrgyzstan South Africa

    gillettehunter has no Articles
    View gillettehunter's Photos

    Default

    Sounds like a great trip. Would love to see some pics. Thanks Bruce

  11. #11
    USAmedic's Avatar
    USAmedic is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    27

    Member of NRA Lifetime, Buck Master Lifetime, Rocky Mtn Elk Lifetime

    Hunted RSA

    USAmedic has no Articles
    View USAmedic's Photos

    Default

    Here are some pictures...
















  12. #12
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,969

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    Great to hear that you had such a fantastic hunt, Willem (as many other outiftters on this forum) have a reputation of making dreams come true. Congrats to you, and looking forward to some pics. I really want to see the Blue Wildebeest....
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  13. #13
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,201

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Glad your family had a excellent trip and great memories!

  14. #14
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,764

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thank you for sharing your trophy photos!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  15. #15
    Molopohunt's Avatar
    Molopohunt is offline New Member
    Joined
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7

    Member of PHASA, SAHGCA, FGASA

    Molopohunt has no Articles
    Molopohunt has no Photos

    Default

    Thank you very much for that great report Frank.
    Really had a good time with you and the family.

    I would like to ad to the forum, Frank is one of the best marksman that I have come across. The Blesbuck was taken at 277 yards at an angled shot. Even for a PH that is impressive. The black wildebeest was also taken close to 300 yards standing over a bi bod.

    Kind regards and keep well team Z

    Peet
    Peet van der Westhuizen
    Molopo Hunt - South Africa
    info@molopohunt.co.za
    www.molopohunt.co.za

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: Fantastic first safari with Russ Field Safaris
    By srmealman in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-18-2013, 04:51 PM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Fantastic hunt with Koedoeberg Safaris!
    By Tchristensen in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 09:28 AM
  3. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Koedoeberg
    By Wolverine67 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 02:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •