Results 1 to 19 of 19

SOUTH AFRICA: Just Back From Koedoeberg Safaris what a place to hunt!

This is a discussion on SOUTH AFRICA: Just Back From Koedoeberg Safaris what a place to hunt! within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; My friend Shane and I just returned home yesterday from our seven day hunt with Koedoeberg Safaris. JG recently posted ...

  1. #1
    Bruinmaster's Avatar
    Bruinmaster is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    46

    Member of SCI,NRA,RMEF

    Hunted United States, Canada, South Africa x2

    Bruinmaster has no Articles
    View Bruinmaster's Photos

    Default SOUTH AFRICA: Just Back From Koedoeberg Safaris what a place to hunt!

    My friend Shane and I just returned home yesterday from our seven day hunt with Koedoeberg Safaris. JG recently posted on here and explained the experience that he had with Koedoeberg and I can only second the experience. We had an outstanding trip. The lodging was an older ranch home but was very well maintained, clean, and very comfortable just the way we like it. The food was simple African home cooked meals, but very good and a lot of it for the hungry hunter. The staff at Koedoeberg were very helpful and and attentive to our needs. We hunted on several different concessions and the hunting was very hard at times but the Ph's were very knowledgeable and did their best to put us on to the game we were seeking.

    I would like to thank Willem, Billy, Ricus, Reineir, Mona, Anise and the rest of the staff at Koedoeberg for all that they did for us during our stay.

    I would also like to thank Lori from Travel Express for making our travel arrangements which went very smoothly and finally to Nathan Jonas for booking this hunt for us and answering the millions of questions we had before our hunt. You all played a part in us having another incredible hunting experience in South Africa.

    Here are a few pics of the animals that were taken on this trip. We took some nice trophies and I was blessed to take a beautiful 26 1/2 inch (19 inch spread) Impala Ram on the last day of our hunt. What a way to top off an incredible safari.

    Enjoy!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,271

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Congratulations.

    That Impala is a topper.

    Thanks for your report.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  3. #3
    Sand Rat's Avatar
    Sand Rat is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Hunted Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Botswana

    Sand Rat has no Articles
    View Sand Rat's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on that monster Impala!
    Get in shape before you go, my PH walked my ass off!

    Robert Jones
    Jubail, Saudi Arabia

  4. #4
    1ObsessedHunter's Avatar
    1ObsessedHunter is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    180

    Member of NRA Life Member

    Hunted South Africa

    1ObsessedHunter has no Articles
    View 1ObsessedHunter's Photos

    Default

    Great pics! Looks like you guys had a blast. Nice Waterbuck. Congrats!!!

  5. #5
    nkjonas's Avatar
    nkjonas is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    82

    Member of SCI, NWTF, DU, RMEF

    Hunted USA, Mexico, Guatemala, South Africa X4

    nkjonas has no Articles
    View nkjonas's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for posting your report Brad. Glad you guys had a great trip and took some beautiful trophies. That Impala is a monster!! I am glad I did not see him last April. I would have had to attempt justifying to my better half why I need another Impala mount in the trophy room...
    Nathan Jonas
    North American Representative
    Koedoeberg Safaris South Africa
    Koedoeberg

  6. #6
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,755

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thank you for the report and pictures!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  7. #7
    enysse's Avatar
    enysse is online now AH Ambassador
    Joined
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,192

    Member of Northeast Wisconsin SCI chapter, Lifetime member of NRA,RMEF

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa (East Cape, Guateng and Limpopo)

    enysse has no Articles
    View enysse's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the hunt report Brad! Nice pictures! You took some really nice animals, I would take that warthog or impala any day!!! And of course I loved the kudu!

  8. #8
    desertloper's Avatar
    desertloper is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    169

    Member of SCI, NRA

    Hunted RSA

    desertloper has no Articles
    View desertloper's Photos

    Default

    Nice collection of piggys

  9. #9
    PHOENIX PHIL's Avatar
    PHOENIX PHIL is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,867

    Member of SCI

    Hunted USA, S. Africa

    PHOENIX PHIL has no Articles
    View PHOENIX PHIL's Photos

    Default

    Well done, especially on the warthogs and the Impala!
    U.S. Contact for HartzView Safaris
    Email: philip.clayton@cox.net
    480-861-9232
    www.hvsafaris.com

  10. #10
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,212

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Congrats on your hunt Brad, I just love that warthog

    And thanks for sharing.

  11. #11
    Bruinmaster's Avatar
    Bruinmaster is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    46

    Member of SCI,NRA,RMEF

    Hunted United States, Canada, South Africa x2

    Bruinmaster has no Articles
    View Bruinmaster's Photos

    Default

    Thank you Gentlemen, The warthogs eluded us on our last trip but we were able to connect on a few this time and some good ones at that. We had several chances on some other warthogs but just could not connect, they are extremely fast.

    Nathan, You are right it was a monster and you just can't pass on an Impala of that caliber. My wife was so impressed with the Impala she gave me the thumbs up immediately to add another impala to the wall.

    I was also able to connect on the nice Kudu and Waterbuck which also eluded me on our last trip. We were unable to connect on some other animals we wanted this trip also which means we have to start planning a return trip to Africa very soon.

  12. #12
    Wheels's Avatar
    Wheels is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    732

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania

    Wheels has no Articles
    View Wheels's Photos

    Default

    Great pics. Congratulations on the hunt. The impala is truly magnificent.
    "TIME"........God's way of keeping everything from happening all at once.

  13. #13
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,968

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    You guys did great, The Impala is fantastic. The Blue Wildebeest is beautiful. Sounds like the hunt of a lifetime, Congrats.
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  14. #14
    JGRaider is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    94

    Member of B&C

    Hunted US, Mexico

    JGRaider has no Articles
    View JGRaider's Photos

    Default

    Way to go Bruin.....great trophies and pics. Looks like you hit the jackpot with that impala for sure. I agree 100% about Koedoeberg and the staff...top shelf. Congrats on a great hunt!

  15. #15
    shanecfi's Avatar
    shanecfi is offline New Member
    Joined
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Member of SCI, NRA

    Hunted South Africa

    shanecfi has no Articles
    shanecfi has no Photos

    Default

    I just wanted to second Brad's comments on our hunt at Koedoeburg. They treated us very well. This was our second Africa hunt in less than three years. We are already starting plans for the next excursion. Rienier and Monet' took a lot of time with me personally to get my Zebra, but I alas it was not meant to be. All the more reason to head back to Africa, and soon! Still trying to sort out all of the thoughts and impressions from the trip. All I can say now is where did all of the time go? Even the 17+ hour flight "flew" by!

  16. #16
    oddsix is offline AH Member
    Joined
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    16

    Member of SCI

    Hunted Canada, (Quebec, Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta Nunavut) Namibia & USA (Maui)

    oddsix has no Articles
    oddsix has no Photos

    Thumbs up

    Awesome hunt guys and thanks for sharing. Love the blue wildebeest and the hogs.

  17. #17
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Thanks for the great hunting Report and some fantastic pics of your trophies.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  18. #18
    Bruinmaster's Avatar
    Bruinmaster is online now AH Member
    Joined
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    46

    Member of SCI,NRA,RMEF

    Hunted United States, Canada, South Africa x2

    Bruinmaster has no Articles
    View Bruinmaster's Photos

    Default

    I am happy to report that all of our trophies have made it safely back to the United States and are currently at my taxidermist. We used Swift Dip for the dip and pack and Safari Cargo Systems for the shipping and Coppersmith for the importing. Great communication from everyone and very smooth transactions with everyone involved. I could not be more pleased with these companies and would recommend them should anyone need assistance from SA to the states with their trophies. I will definitely be using these companies again when I return to SA in 2015.

  19. #19
    bluey's Avatar
    bluey is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,998

    Member of ssaa, aba ,bairnsdale field archers

    Hunted australia south africa (limpopo) canada (b.c)

    bluey has no Articles
    View bluey's Photos

    Default

    as you would expect from any prffesional out fit bruin master
    we used swift dip (antony loiter ) and safari cargo systems (Pieter Erasmus) aswell .
    you didn't hunt with dries visser safaris by any chance did you ?

    our only hiccup was that the Australian aqis couldn't get the cites certificate for my caracal, to date up africas
    all very professional and my opinion is the exact same as yours mate
    soory kodeoberg safaris ,
    ijust read the whole post .
    they must be great people to hunt with also , your opinions match our s

Similar Threads

  1. SOUTH AFRICA: My Hunt With Koedoeberg Safaris, SA
    By JGRaider in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 06-08-2013, 08:45 AM
  2. SOUTH AFRICA: Great hunt with Koedoeberg
    By bwanadefender in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 08:07 PM
  3. Place to stay in Joburg SA after the hunt
    By Palefty in forum Before & After the Hunt
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-29-2012, 07:29 AM
  4. SOUTH AFRICA: Hunt with Koedoeberg
    By Wolverine67 in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 02:44 AM
  5. SOUTH AFRICA: Free Hunt for 2 from Koedoeberg Safaris
    By nkjonas in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 08:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •