Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

BOTSWANA: My Most Excellent Kanana Adventure

This is a discussion on BOTSWANA: My Most Excellent Kanana Adventure within the Hunting Reports & Reviews forums, part of the HUNT AFRICA category; We were met at the Maun airport by Kanana rep Will (apprentice PH) and our journey began! The wife and ...

  1. #1
    Sand Rat's Avatar
    Sand Rat is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Hunted Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Botswana

    Sand Rat has no Articles
    View Sand Rat's Photos

    Default BOTSWANA: My Most Excellent Kanana Adventure

    We were met at the Maun airport by Kanana rep Will (apprentice PH) and our journey began! The wife and I had chose to spend a few days at Afton House in Joberg prior to our safari and the stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. We were accompanied by a work colleague and his nephew who joined use in Joberg prior to our flight departure. Will stop to allow us to stretch our legs halfway through the 3.5 hour drive from Maun to the lodge which gave us the opportunity to gawk at a giant Baobab tree.
    Attachment 19530

    We arrived at Kanana in time for a quick trip to the gun range before dark to get comfortable with the supplied firearms. I was shooting a CZ 550 in 30-06 that is hands down one of the best firearms I have ever handled. After a wonderful dinner under the stars we settled in for the night of rest with a herd of Blue Wildebeest running between our tents in the middle of the night. Welcome to Africa (it was great)! Apprentice Will gave the wakeup call @ 0600 and breakfast was served @ 0630. By 0700 we were on the truck and the adventure began. Our first Kalahari sunrise will forever be imprinted in our mind.
    DSC01880.jpg

    After numerous failed stalks (gemsbok, zebra, wildebeest...)that first morning due to the constant wind shift I was able to take my first African plains game, a fine Blue Wildebeest that measured 27" outside and had lots of height and curl. We had seen bigger that morning but I was very happy with my first kill and he is one of my favorite trophies taken.
    DSC_0003.jpg

    An APB had been placed on a one horn waterbuck the night before that Kanana wanted shot in order to make a flat skin rug for a client. luck would have it we spotted it midday on the way to the skinning shed with my Blue and it was added to the truck. The broke horn was found later in the week so I have the option for a repaired European mount for the cost of the taxidermy work.
    DSC_0011.jpg

    I can't say enough about my PH, a young man named J.P. who did and outstanding job for the whole trip. Having been raised in the area he was well versed in the native wildlife and went out of his way to not only ensure me the best shot but also show Sandy and I all the little things that normally go unnoticed. The other hunters said the wildebeest visited the camp again the second night but we never heard them.

    After breakfast the next morning it was a repeat of the first morning. The winds were swirling and all our stalks were busted until midmorning when I harvested a nice 37" bull gemsbok out of a herd of seven animals at a water hole.
    DSC02042.jpg
    DSC_0013.jpg
    Late that afternoon a blind stalk to the "hippo'' water hole produced the first of three warthogs Sandy and I would harvest.
    DSC_0018.jpgDSC02101.jpg
    That's all for now, days 3-8 coming soon.

  2. #2
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Glad to hear you had a great time can't wait for the rest if the story. Have you got any pics of camp?
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  3. #3
    Wheels's Avatar
    Wheels is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    732

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania

    Wheels has no Articles
    View Wheels's Photos

    Default

    Great story so far......waiting for the rest.

  4. #4
    TOM's Avatar
    TOM
    TOM is offline AH Elite
    Joined
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,595

    Member of SCI,DSC, QDMA, QU

    Hunted Africa...are there other continents to hunt?

    Default

    Great stuff.
    Tom

  5. #5
    BRICKBURN's Avatar
    BRICKBURN is online now SUPER MODERATOR
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    6,277

    Member of KZN Hunters Assoc

    Hunted Namibia (Otavi, Ozondjache) South Africa ( LP, KZN, NC, EC) Botswana (Ghanzi) Canada (BC, AB, SK, MB, Ont, PQ, NS) USA (MT, WA, SD, CA, CO, WY, KS, MN, NC, VG, UT, HI)

    BRICKBURN has no Articles
    View BRICKBURN's Photos

    Default

    Great start to your hunting tale.
    Looking forward to more.
    Practice whispering before you leave for Africa!
    A Legend in my own mind!

  6. #6
    lwaters's Avatar
    lwaters is offline AH Veteran
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    226

    Hunted Texas,Namibia,Kansas, Missouri, Wyoming, Colorado, Idaho

    lwaters has no Articles
    View lwaters's Photos

    Default

    Great report! Looking forward to more. Lenny

  7. #7
    bluey's Avatar
    bluey is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,998

    Member of ssaa, aba ,bairnsdale field archers

    Hunted australia south africa (limpopo) canada (b.c)

    bluey has no Articles
    View bluey's Photos

    Default

    sound like you guys are apart of a steady stream of happy hunters after a great time spent a kanana.
    great write up so far don't keep us waiting to long to finish your memories .

  8. #8
    AfricaHunting.com's Avatar
    AfricaHunting.com is online now Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15,755

    Member of AfricaHunting.com

    Hunted Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, France, Spain, USA

    Default

    Thank you for sharing your hunt and pictures with all of us!

    Jerome Philippe, Founder of AfricaHunting.com
    Visited by over 240,000 hunters monthly, viewing 2.5 million pages, generating 14.5 million hits over 11,000 members (statistics Jan 2014).

    Click HERE to Support AH

    If you enjoy this site then tell fellow hunters about it!

    Our community is a place for seasoned African hunters and those who dream of someday hunting in Africa. I hope that you will find AfricaHunting.com a great place to spend time preparing for or dreaming about your future African hunting safari or reliving your last.

  9. #9
    35bore's Avatar
    35bore is online now AH Elite
    Joined
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,968

    Member of NRA,Missouri hunters ed, SCI, Owensville Gun Club, Quail Forever

    Hunted USA, South Africa, France

    35bore has no Articles
    View 35bore's Photos

    Default

    Excellent animals, congrats on a great hunt.
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger" Friedrich Nietzsche // That which does not kill me, better run like hell" Scott Smith

  10. #10
    Wildside Outdoors's Avatar
    Wildside Outdoors is online now New Member
    Joined
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    9

    Member of RMEF, NWTF, SCI

    Hunted USA- AK, WY, UT, CO, TX, GA, FL, NC, TN, OH, IL, IN, MO, MI, and good ole KY

    Wildside Outdoors has no Articles
    Wildside Outdoors has no Photos

    Default

    Awesome! I can't wait to go! Booked for August of next year!

  11. #11
    svinejakt is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    103

    Member of OJJF

    Hunted Norway, South Africa

    svinejakt has no Articles
    svinejakt has no Photos

    Default

    Kanana does it again, great start to a safari, cant wait for the rest
    Hunted Norway and South Africa, so many places left:)

  12. #12
    Nyati's Avatar
    Nyati is online now AH Legend
    Joined
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,212

    Member of RFEC, RFETO

    Hunted Finland, RSA ( KwaZulu Natal, Limpopo, North West ), Spain

    Nyati has no Articles
    View Nyati's Photos

    Default

    Good start, we ll wait for the rest

  13. #13
    Sand Rat's Avatar
    Sand Rat is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Hunted Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Botswana

    Sand Rat has no Articles
    View Sand Rat's Photos

    Default

    Bobpuckett ask for pictures of the camp so I'll post several before getting to day three's adventure.

    Attachment 19608

    The camp consist of four two man tents placed on rock/concrete foundations with all the comforts of home. On demand hot water heaters, indoor sink and toilet. Lighting is supplied by solar charged batteries. A car charger connection was available to charge electronic devices and 110 volt power located in the main lodge.

    DSC01851.jpg

    Breakfast was served in the main lodge which had a nice fire built for us every morning and a full open view of the water pan located just a few yards from the back of the building. A large herd of springbok would water every morning for our enjoyment along with the ever present warthog and waterbuck.

    DSC01845.jpg
    DSC02294.jpg
    DSC02297.jpg

    Supper was served under the stars by candle light and glow from the fire pit located in the open top round walled dinning enclosure.

    DSC02354.jpg
    DSC01996.jpg

    Now let's get back to the hunting!

  14. #14
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Thanks Sand Rat That place is First Class all the way. Nice pics.
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  15. #15
    Sand Rat's Avatar
    Sand Rat is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Hunted Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Botswana

    Sand Rat has no Articles
    View Sand Rat's Photos

    Default Day Three

    Day three started with a few short impala stalks but just couldn't find the one we were looking for. After driving several miles on the north end of the ranch we spotted a nice herd of zebra several hundred yards off. After tracking them for around a mile through the thick brush we caught up with them only to find they had mixed with a large bunch of black wildebeest that kept running in circles. It was fun to watch but spoiled my zebra opportunity. Back on the truck we soon spotted a set of large eland tracks crossing the road and decided to test our bushman tracker's skills. Over the next two hours we jumped two eland bulls three times at less than thirty yards in the bush but the thick cover wouldn't allow a shot. By this time we were ready for lunch so we headed to water hole #1 and cleared out a nice spot to sit at the base of some trees and enjoy a well deserved sandwich. Just as soon as I finished my last bite my PH J.P. whispered in my ear that two zebra were approaching to our left and I should take the back one when the time was right. They both went to water and seemed to drink forever in my mind before the one I wanted turned and gave me a perfect straight on shot. J.P. gave me the OK and when the 30-06 trigger was pulled the stallion dropped dead in his tracks. It was an awesome rush of adrenaline and I don't think my feet hit the sand covering the 80 yards to reach my trophy.

    DSC_0029.jpg
    DSC_0027.jpg

    We continued mid afternoon with another try at tracking eland without a sighting.

    Day four update tomorrow.

    Robert

  16. #16
    arizona's Avatar
    arizona is offline SILVER SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    228

    Member of SCI, NRA

    Hunted South Africia, Botswana, Alaska, Canada, Most Western US

    arizona has no Articles
    View arizona's Photos

    Default

    very cool, keep then coming

  17. #17
    Stretch's Avatar
    Stretch is offline AH Fanatic
    Joined
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    621

    Hunted USA , Canada, Botswana

    Stretch has no Articles
    View Stretch's Photos

    Default

    This is good stuff. Looks like you had an excellent experience so far.
    Your great report allows for me some preview for my visit coming up in August.
    When I am not hunting, I am thinking about hunting....I think I'll go hunting.

  18. #18
    Bobpuckett's Avatar
    Bobpuckett is offline GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,595

    Member of NAHC Life Member, NRA Life Member,SCI, Buckmasters

    Hunted USA(from Coast to Coast and Alaska), Germany, South Africa, Canada

    Bobpuckett has no Articles
    View Bobpuckett's Photos

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sand Rat View Post
    Beautiful Markings Congrats!
    Enjoy life now -- it has an expiration date.

  19. #19
    bluey's Avatar
    bluey is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,998

    Member of ssaa, aba ,bairnsdale field archers

    Hunted australia south africa (limpopo) canada (b.c)

    bluey has no Articles
    View bluey's Photos

    Default

    thank you again sandrat
    those photos of camp only make the place look better
    congrats on your new floor rug them markings are most handsome

  20. #20
    Sand Rat's Avatar
    Sand Rat is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Hunted Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Botswana

    Sand Rat has no Articles
    View Sand Rat's Photos

    Default Missing Photos

    Here re the two missing photos from the first two post. I just learning the system and have made a few mistakes along the way.

    Baobab tree
    DSC01805.jpg

    Tent interior
    DSC01854.jpg

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BOTSWANA: Kanana Safaris Adventure 2012
    By jeffpg in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 05-09-2013, 01:30 PM
  2. LIMPOPO ADVENTURE
    By MBUYU SAFARIS in forum GREAT DEALS on Hunts Worldwide
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2013, 09:02 PM
  3. BOTSWANA: BOWHUNT: Kanana Safaris - October 2012
    By TOM in forum Hunting Reports & Reviews
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-29-2012, 06:15 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-26-2012, 02:39 AM
  5. kanana?????
    By tap in forum Hunting Africa
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 08:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •