Results 1 to 5 of 5

Opinions and experiences on a rifle and caliber

This is a discussion on Opinions and experiences on a rifle and caliber within the .375 & Up forums, part of the HUNTING EQUIPMENT, FIREARMS & AMMUNITION category; Hello everyone, I was hoping to get your opinions on a Montana rifle company DGR in 505 gibbs. I'm potentially ...

  1. #1
    Voodooracer is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    58
    Voodooracer has no Articles
    Voodooracer has no Photos

    Default Opinions and experiences on a rifle and caliber

    Hello everyone, I was hoping to get your opinions on a Montana rifle company DGR in 505 gibbs. I'm potentially looking into one in the future as a pure stopping rifle. It's more of a want than a need but in sure you guys know all about that hahaha. I'd appreciate your experiences with the rifle as well as with the 505 Gibbs caliber. P.s. I'm not recoil shy either haha.
    Thanks!
    Voodooracer

  2. #2
    colorado's Avatar
    colorado is online now AH Veteran
    Joined
    May 2011
    Posts
    177
    colorado has no Articles
    View colorado's Photos

    Default

    Don't get it too light, my friend has a 9 lb 458 Win Mag and it's like a 30-06 compared to my 500 Jeffery. I love the big 50s but they do need a little weight ...

  3. #3
    Voodooracer is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    58
    Voodooracer has no Articles
    Voodooracer has no Photos

    Default

    I completely agree. I have. A cz 550 in 458 Lott that weighs around 9.5 pounds and definitely wouldn't want that rifle any lighter, let alone a 505 gibbs.

  4. #4
    James.Grage's Avatar
    James.Grage is online now GOLD SUPPORTER
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,258

    Member of NRA, ATA, PITA, NAHC, NAFC, DU, TU, DSC, SCI, RMEF

    Hunted USA - Canada -Tanzania, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Africa

    James.Grage has no Articles
    View James.Grage's Photos

    Default

    Montana builds a great rifle and they have service to back it up if you need it.

    I comes right out of the box as ordered and they will set the trigger for you if you want an exact poundage. However you can do it your self if you like.

    If you have the rifle built you can have them add some weight to the stock to get it to your specifications. Usually will add a recoil reducer in the stock.

    I suggest you add a different dated recoil pad (they will do this) as there 1/2 pad is a little hard for me i added 1 1/4 inch kick ezze to mine.
    James Grage - New Mexico
    Hold a steady Eye & Rifle...
    "Very few of the so-called liberals are open-minded...they shout you down and won't let you speak if you disagree with them." John Wayne

  5. #5
    Voodooracer is online now AH Senior Member
    Joined
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    58
    Voodooracer has no Articles
    Voodooracer has no Photos

    Default

    Ah okay, I am very interested in one of their rifles and the 505 Gibbs is really intriguing to me

Similar Threads

  1. CZ 550 Rifle Opinions?
    By VanderLaan in forum Up To .375
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 04:49 AM
  2. The All Around Rifle Caliber....
    By michaelhh375 in forum Firearms & Ammunition
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-14-2012, 04:56 AM
  3. Caliber for my Double Rifle
    By CK1 in forum Double Rifles
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 03:12 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 09:15 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 10:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •